Sweating the Small Stuff: Knitting in Ninety Degree Weather

Hi F&F

If you’ve read an earlier post , you know that I recently returned to my hobbies of knitting and crochet (click here if you missed it) .  You also know that I live in Brooklyn, New York in the United States of America. If you live in the United States or have been reading the news, you know that we have been experiencing record-breaking high temperatures across the country.  In my area, at one point the temperature reached 104 degrees with a dew point of 74 – basically, hell with humidity.    It seems the heat is all that anyone can think or talk about; which just maximizes the misery for everyone.

It’s been so hot that NYC has set up watering troughs for its citizenry

Even with air conditioning, (dutifully set  at a balmy 79 degrees to ward off a blackout) trying to keep up with the tasks of daily living has been challenging; so you can imagine that hobbies have been at slow speed or full stop.  Several days of stultifying heat has not been conducive to fiber crafting, but I persevered.  I am proud to say I just completed my first bit of lace knitting. High five blogosphere!!

I’m a newbie knitter and have been working on 2 skill expanding projects. One project is a simple ribbed tank top (3/4 complete); to practice my knit and purl stitches; improve my yarn tensioning and learn the shaping techniques of increasing and decreasing. The other project was a four repeat lace patterned scarf (worked in bulky yarn) so that I would become familiar with working yarn overs. The yarn over is the technique to create the holes in knitted lace fabric.

My friend in fiber, Yasmin, gave me a hand written lace pattern; assuring me that practicing the pattern would eliminate my fear of lace knitting.  Let me tell you – this pattern caused me to sweat as much as the temperature.  I had to frog (to rip out stitches; as in rip it, rip it – the sound frogs make) the work so many times to correct errors the wool was looking a little abused and my sweaty palms  practically felted the fibers. After so many false starts I finally learned how to read the stitches well enough to correct my errors along the way without completely undoing my work.  So a big thank you to Yasmin and the rest of the Park Slope Knitting Circle for pushing me supporting me through this project.

The pattern looking as wilted and crumpled as I felt

Below are a few photos of the completed scarf.  I tried to display it artfully because I was not about to model it for you. These days I’m trying to wear as few clothes as possible. Just the thought of a wool scarf around my neck gives me a heat rash.

The scarf on blocking wires

Longshot of scarf on blocking wires

Closeup of stitches

The finished scarf

To hot to handle

Peace,

ATreeWiltsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in crafts, crochet, fiber arts, knitting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sweating the Small Stuff: Knitting in Ninety Degree Weather

  1. northernnarratives says:

    Hi. I just found your blog. Hope the weather cools off for you soon. Have fun knitting, Judy

  2. stitchknit says:

    Artfully photographed! I can’t imagine the heat where you are at. I’m in WA state, where it is raining again today. Feels like a great knitting day here!
    Your knitting is beautiful, by the way. I’m still not venturing into lace knitting, and I’ve been knitting for decades! (I’m allergic to charts!)

    • Hi Stitchknit,

      Thanks for stopping by the blog. I’ll say it again; folks who fiddle with fiber are the friendliest folks by far.

      This lace project was a stretch assignment for me . You are allergic to charts while I’m allergic to lace weight yarn. I really think working in the bulky weight yarn helped me cope with learning some of the mechanics of lace knitting. If I had tried this scarf in lace weight yarn I’d be pulling out the stitches and pulling out my hair :-)

      A cooling rain shower would feel good about now. Today was another scorcher.

      Peace,
      ATreeGrowsinBklyn

  3. lm1947 says:

    Wonderful, excellent; keep up the good work.
    L

    • Hi L,

      Thanks for your support. I’m still plodding through the tank top project. It’s rather boring, but I hope to complete it soon so I can some wear out of it this summer.

      Next project will be a crocheted shawl; in eager anticipation of fall.

      Peace,
      ATreeGrowsinBklyn

  4. Yasmin Negron says:

    Hey Adrienne,
    It took me long enough to get here, but I’m here. The scarf looks beautiful. And you were scared of Lace. See how easy it could be? I think that’s exactly what Wenlan Chia had in mind when she created the pattern. She also taught me to do the SSK doing it the other way which is “Slip One Knit One then Pass Slipped Stitch Over”. Abbreviated as SKP by most designers.

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

