Weekly Photo Challenge: Launch

Hi F&F,

The USS Arizona was a Brooklyn Navy Yard built battleship.  It was launched on June 19, 1915. It was sunk on December 7, 1941; that date is the “date which will live in infamy”; referred to by President Franklin D. Roosevelt; in his historic speech the Presidential Address to Congress of December 8, 1941 (also called the Infamy Speech). A total of 8 battleships of the U.S. Pacific Fleet were sunk or severely damaged on that day. America was launched into World War II.

Below is a picture of a piece of wreckage from the USS Arizona. It is on display at BLDG 92 Brooklyn Navy Yard Center. It rests in a glass case in front of a wall sized picture of the, smoking and fatally wounded, battleship. The remains of the ship rest at the bottom of Pearl Harbor in approximately 40 feet of water.

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in brooklyn, Photo, Photography, photos, postaweek2012, Uncategorized, weekly photo challenge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Launch

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Launch « Mike Hardisty Photography

  2. eof737 says:

    Quite impressive… WoW!

  3. Moe says:

    really? wow. I have to come visit bldg 92….

  4. what a great way to illustrate Launch! I love posts that touch on history!

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Through « The Incredible Lightness of Seeing

  6. Pingback: Images From Inside Dry Dock #5 at the Brooklyn Navy Yard | atreegrowsinbklyn

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

