Happy Earth Day: What Gift to Give to the Planet that has Everything?

Hi F&F,

Yes; this is my second post of the day; and yes – two posts in one day is a first for me. You are either thinking  Yippee!; I’m so lucky; my cup “runneth over” – more juicy tasty stuff to sip read; or you are thinking – spill on aisle three – someone mop that mess up before I break my neck and have to sue your butt.   Regardless of your reaction; I’m writing.

It’s Earth Day and I’ve been thinking about what other things I could do, or give, or give up for my dear friend planet Earth.  After all, friends give gifts, or at least a card (e-mailed or made of post recycled paper), on special occasions and I wouldn’t think of not bringing a hostess gift when I am an invited guest to a friend’s party.  But, what do you give the planet that has everything?  Flowers, a basket of fruit, jewelry?  I’ve searched the internet and have been reading many articles for ideas. I thought I’d share some of the unique, yet sure to be appreciated, gifts we can give to Earth.

 Sheep – For many fiber fanatics owning sheep is a dream that fuels our spinning, knitting, and crocheting fantasies. Sheep can also be an Earth friendly gift; an answer to lawn care concerns.   Grazing sheep can keep the grass trimmed (goodbye noisy smelly gas-powered lawn mower; hello you fluffy ewe) and nibble away the weeds (goodbye toxic chemical weed killers).  And let’s not forget to factor in the fertilizer benefits. This isn’t a new concept.  See the picture below.

From the Library of Congress Digital Collection

Old Tires – Don’t let your old tires end up in a landfill; a blot on the landscape. Instead, fill your old tires with plants and beautify the landscape by turning them into flowerbeds or planters.  My Grandma Inez was resourceful.  She was all about adapting and re-using stuff. For her, it was a way of life; not a trendy endeavor. In the picture below you can just get a glimpse of one of the pair of tire planters she made.

Sh*t – The next time someone says you are full of sh*t, I want you to own the powerful potential in that statement.  Your poop, my poop, everyone’s poop, could fuel entire towns.  Anaerobic digestion transforms waste into biogas; a renewable energy source.  Biogas could replace fossil fuel and reduce drawing from an overtaxed electrical grid. I bet a processing plant behind the United States Capital could power all of Washington, DC.

Reusable Chopsticks – New Yorkers eat a lot of takeout Chinese food. With each delivery you get chopsticks (for the dexterous) or plastic forks and knives (for the clumsy).  Why not get a set of beautifully reusable chopsticks for yourself and for friends? Using them will make eating out of a paper carton seem more chic and less crude.  Also, they make really nice hair ornaments; in a pinch.

CDs and their Jewel Cases – Most of us are now downloading our music, but what do you do with the old and scratched CD’s and their storage cases? Real Simple has some practical and creative suggestions. Click HERE to visit that website.

I just shared a short “gift” list for Earth. What are your green “gift” ideas for the “hostess with the mostess”- planet Earth?

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Culture, Daily Living, Events, frugality, humor, Life, Pop Culture, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Happy Earth Day: What Gift to Give to the Planet that has Everything?

  1. Northern Narratives says:

    Plant trees for Earth Day :) Judy

  2. Keith says:

    I second the chopstick point … restaurants often appreciate when you request no utensils. Everyone wins!

    Little-known fact: the Grand Army Plaza Greenmarket has a textile-recycling booth. You can take your old clothes there to be recycled.

  3. Touch2Touch says:

    The sheep on the White House lawn look really good —

  4. eof737 says:

    Love the picture of you… :-)

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

