April Fools’ Day – The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

Hi Friends and Family (F&F),

If you have not already heard via the grapevine, my journey across the USA via Amtrak starts April 1st. After vacillating on the departure date; April Fools’ Day struck a harmonious cord for me. It’s perfect. The holiday, and the associated tomfoolery is right in line with the lighthearted feeling I’ve been experiencing.

At its best, April Fools’ Day is about the joy of play, creativity, spontaneity and silliness. At its worst the holiday is about humiliation and embarrassment. I think a person can benefit from experiencing both poles of the holiday and I know some of my most memorable trips have had moments of the regal and the ridiculous. I anticipate that this trip will also; and I welcome it.

So April 1st it is. I’m setting off on the one day a year dedicated to recapturing a certain childlike sense of mischievous fun and lightness. A day that can offer us all a brief respite from the weighty cares and concerns of adulthood. A day that offers us the gift of embarrassment. It is the gift that reminds us that we are not as smart; or as cool; as we think; confirms that our faults are rarely fatal and while today I play the fool tomorrow, you neighbor, co-worker, stranger on the street will wear that crown next. One size fits all.

Many folks have asked me to periodically check in and share images, information and my impressions of the places I visit, the things I do and the people I meet along my way. I thank you for your interest.

Please understand I live in the world somewhere between Tech Geek and Luddite. I will be using whatever tools are available and appropriate to send a shout-out on the doings. That means while I’m trying to get a handle on this blogging stuff; you are likely to get updates via email, Facebook, text message, snail mail, carrier pigeon or smoke signal. As this is my first post, I would like it if you would let me know you are out there. Post a comment. I like to talk and I like to listen.

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Creative Non-Fiction, solo travel, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to April Fools’ Day – The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

  1. Susanne says:

    What a wonderful idea! I will read your blog BUT it would be easier if you were on the gmail site: blogspot. Can you be convinced to switch? I would just follow you and be notified when you posted new material.

    I think I may be able to follow you from the buttons below, it helps to look at things before you write (lol)

    The adventure begins AND I’m supporting you in all the ways I can! I hope you are as happy and joyous about this as I am for you!

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

