Ms. ATreeGrowsinBklyn Goes to Washington

Hi F&F,

At the moment the “DC” in Washington, DC must stand for damp and cold but, that’s ok.  I’m very happy to be here.

After I arrived at Union Station; I stored my bag and headed to The Kennedy Center to catch a free performance at Millennium Stage.  The program I saw featured Dance Place; a community youth program dedicated to “transforming lives through performing arts and creative education”.  They were high energy and they transformed the audience to dancers class by teaching us a few African dance moves and a basic step routine. You can see all if you visit the website http://www.kennedy-center.org/programs/millennium/ .

I’m staying at the Kellogg Conference Hotel.  It is on the campus of Gallaudet University.  Gallaudet is the oldest institution of higher education for the deaf. The campus is listed in the National Register of Historic Places and I plan to explore the grounds.

Below are some pictures from my first day in DC.

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ms. ATreeGrowsinBklyn Goes to Washington

  1. Moe says:

    Okay. I’m late to the game. Just getting email that you were on the road. LOL. Have fun and I’ll follow the blog. I’ll wait ’til after your eat, pray, love adventure to travel with you. Maybe by then you’ll be ready to recline on the beach somewhere w/a fruity drink in hand!! I’m up for that! Enjoy!!!

  2. Susanne says:

    Is that you on the terrace of the Kennedy Center? If so, I now have a visual to go with the courageous spirit I’m virtually following!

    I wish I were actually with you now. What an adventure! I can’t wait for each post — thank you for including me!

    Enjoy!

  3. Eileen says:

    What fabulous pictures of DC! Makes me want to go. Especially the one of 7th Street and of course the flowers.
    Eileen

    • Thank you. The shot was taken right after a brief yet torrential rain storm. I was able to take shelter at the Capitol Hill Seventh-day Adventist Church right around the corner. I met nice people; heard a good sermon and good music.

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

