Farmers and Fleas

Hi F&F, 

Armed with a few recommendations from, foodie website, Chow Hound and the opinion forum website Yelp; I went grazing at the Eastern Market  on Saturday.  It’s the oldest farmers market in DC.  Local farmers, food venders and artisans are present at this indoor and outdoor venue.  Picture perfect produce and free samples made for a feast for the eyes and the stomach.  I ate well and on the cheap.

My next stop was to the Capital Hill Flea Market  to feast my eyes on all manner of jewelry, pottery,  and vintage and hand crafted clothing and decorative housewares.  My favorite stall was that of Olde Good Things.  They reclaim architectural elements from old buildings.  Someone else’s trash can become your treasure. I was really taken with the glass doorknobs.  I grew up with  clear glass doorknobs and I remember playing with them; imagining them to be diamonds  or crystal balls to tell the future.

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Food, Photography, solo travel, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Farmers and Fleas

  1. Susanne says:

    Wow — that shrimp soup looks delicious. The coffee/latte isn’t too shabby either!

    I’ll have to visit the Eastern Market the next time I’m in the DC area. The veggie presentation reminds me a bit of China. It’s good when the food comes to us from very close to the source without all of the human intervention and without being picked too soon.

    Happy eating! I hope you’re enjoying this adventure as much as I am!

    • Susanne says:

      Did I mention that I loved, loved, loved the pictures? This is a terrific blog and it will document your adventure admirably! Don’t forget to write!

      • Thanks for the positive feedback and thanks for being a virtual travel companion. It has been fun documenting the sights and my experiences. Yes, the very cold lady in me the puffy coat is me.

        Peace,

        AM

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

