The Little Engine That Could; Did

Hi F&F,
I departed Chicago on the California Zephyr headed for “California Dreamin” in San Fransiciso, CA (SF).

When planning this trip, I originally intended to make brief stops in Salt Lake City and Reno on the way to SF. That idea was scraped when I decided that I wanted to get the full train experience of sleeping, eating, bathing and connecting with my fellow travelers. I am so glad I made that itinerary adjustment. I can’t imagine having missed out on this experience.

This was not the movie version of train travel. I don’t think anyone planned or committed murder on this trip but, there were as many interesting stories and dramatic events as any screenwriter could conceive and far more beauty to behold than any cinematographer could capture or special effects team could create.

If a picture is worth a thousand words; I’ve taken so many pictures; it’s probably the equivalent of 10 volumes of War and Peace or Gone with the Wind; but rest assured I will be a tough editor (thank you Newsseum) and share the most interesting. Please note, I didn’t say that I’m sharing the prettiest or most perfect images. What I’m sharing are the images that seem to capture what I saw with my eyes and my heart at the very moment that I experienced it.

All Aboard!!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Photography, solo travel, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Little Engine That Could; Did

  1. lm1947 says:

    Cool! You look and sound happy; I’m so glad.

    What are the dimensions of the roomate?

    Snow? How long were in the snow?

    L

  2. Gay says:

    Adrienne,

    Am loving your blog, and I have such strong memories of riding the train myself cross-country that your photos were just wonderful to see!
    Where is it that you decided to stay a few more days (I received your text!)?

    G.

  3. Charlene says:

    Wow!!! Youu’re photos are breathtaking! It’s really taking me through a journey to places I have never been. Your next calling BTW is to write a book. Sorry for the late blog. My other posts didn’t go through. I hope you get this. It’s a rainy day here in NY and Yvette and I are spending some time looking at your blog. You made our day.

  4. Eileen says:

    Your photographs are a wonderful way to start off Holy Week. Visual confirmation of the Grace of God. Your following your Dream, confirmation that it can be done.
    Eileen

  5. Susanne says:

    Your pictures are amazing! I love, love, love ’em! I almost feel like I’m there.

    I was feeling a little lonely with a dose of homesick thrown in, BUT then I saw your photos. They led me to know that I’m just not fully experiencing my current situation. Thank you for easing me out of myself and into all that surrounds me.

    Hope you’re loving every minute of your journey AND would you please show more of the roomette (I’m thinking of booking one myself).

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

