A Glimpse into Yosemite National Park

 

Hi F&F,

With the Yosemite Sign

Unable to book the 3 day camping trip to Yosemite National Park; I settled on a one day excursion with a tour group called Incredible Adventures . This brief tour gave me a small glimpse of the natural wonders of the park.  I am eager to see more of Yosemite (I really want to have a camping experience) and I would like to visit some of the other parks. The tour guide and a Ranger I met on the train trip gave me a few recommendations on the most picturesque parks.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I had about 2 hours of free time to explore on my own.  I used the time to follow the easy one mile trail to the base of Yosemite Fall; visit the Yosemite Museum and tour the reconstructed Miwok Indian Village.

Getting close to the fall was thrilling.  The park has had record snowfall and now that it is melting all falls in the park are gushing high volumes of water. The sound of the water was very loud and I could feel the water spray with every gust of wind. I bought lunch with me and I was able to enjoy my sandwich near enough to enjoy the show; yet far enough to stay dry.

The Yosemite Museum was showing the work of winners of their annual art competition. Also, there is a collection of artifacts of the Miwok Indians.

Miwok Indian Village has been reconstructed on the former site of the largest village in Yosemite Valley.  It was a good way to  see the objects in the museum in the context of village daily life.

What I saw was 5% of the wonders within Yosemite National Park; just scratching the surface of the park and not even making a dent in the divinely made natural wonders of the Earth.

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Outdoors, Photography, solo travel, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Glimpse into Yosemite National Park

  1. Susanne says:

    You are a powerful documentor! The pictures, the words and the feelings evoked all combine to make it a “You Are There” moment for me. Have I thanked you lately for your work?

    • Thanks so much for your encouragement. I’m so glad that you are enjoying the posts. Now that I’m at the end of the journey; I may try to keep it going but, I don’t think my day to day life is fertile ground for a blog. We will see.

  2. lm1947 says:

    Outstanding pictures; I’m going to start calling you Ansel. Count me in for a trip to Yosemite.

    L

  3. Charlene says:

    Loving the pics! I want to go! That deer looks like it was headed right toward you. I assume that it wasn’t. Otherwise, you would’ve been running and not gotten the picture….I think???

    • There was a whole group (heard??) of deer and I was sneaking up on them; snapping shots all the while. A group of loud kids came up the trail and startled the heard and they scattered. In the confusion, the doe bounced towards me but, quickly shifted directions to join the heard. For a moment I flashed upon that horrible TV program “When Animals Attack”.

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

