Ending with a Semicolon

Hi F&F,

I am home.

Putting the period at the end of that opening sentence was a
little sad.

Traveling across country was great.  It afforded me the opportunity to see America
and to see myself more completely and in a new way.  I liked what I saw; the beauty marks and the warts.

I want the excitement of exploration and the feeling of freedom
and fearlessness to continue. So, while it may be grammatically correct to put
a period at the end of that opening sentence; I am choosing to be incorrect. I’m
ending it with a semicolon. It is the punctuation mark that is all about the
pause and the anticipation/introduction of the next passage. That’s what being home feels like to me.

I am home;

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Creative Non-Fiction and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ending with a Semicolon

  1. Eileen says:

    WELCOME HOME!
    This is a Good Friday!
    Thank you for following your dreams and sharing your adventures and passions.
    Eileen

  2. Susanne says:

    Glad that you have safely returned BUT I now need, need, need to continue reading. You must continue blogging for I am totally hooked and addicted!

    The journey was amazing from this vantage point, I’m sure it was even more thrilling IRL! Keep using the eyes of the adventurer and document the days.

    Thanks for taking me with you.

  3. Marilyn says:

    Welcome home! So glad you thoroughly enjoyed your journey…primed for the next chapter in your life! Writing about your travels has inspired me to start blogging about my passions and desires. Thanks for the lovely visuals!

    Happy Easter,

    Marilyn

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

