Public Art?

Hi F&F,

While traveling, it  felt as if other places provided more venues for public art than my hometown of NYC.  Perhaps the high price of real estate prevents those with the space from being altruistic in that way. I imagine, the ROI calculations for a 400 square foot environmental art installation would not be as compelling as the numbers one could crunch to make the case for a McDonald Express of the same size. Or, perhaps I wasn’t paying attention to my surroundings and my definition of art might be just to narrow. So taking Susanne’s advice, I’ve been trying to see my surroundings and document my daily doings with an “adventurers eye”; and “dang” if I didn’t come across some “art”!!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Art, Curiosities & Oddities, new york city, Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Public Art?

  1. Susanne says:

    What a fabulous post! I love the art. Where is it? Some of it looks like it might be in Queens, but I don’t really recognize any of the streets.

    It makes me so happy that you’re continuing your blog! And mention of me is amazing! Thank you.

    I’ve started one too, in large part because of your inspiration. Feel free to take a peek and offer advice: susanne230.blogspot.com

    Looking forward to many, many more posts!

    • Hi Susanne,

      You get a prize!!! Most of the pictures were taken near Court Square in Queens. I’ve been passing through that area weekly for over a year. This time I went right instead of left and stumbled across a tresure trove of graffiti tags. The buildings seem to be the warehouse for all the hot dog trucks in the city. There was a long line of them being towed in and tucked in for the night.

      I’m so excited about your blog. I’m heading over to it right now!!!

      If this becomes a trend, we could start an on-line collective of women bloggers. We could call ourseleves SWVV – Sisters With Virtual Voices!!

      Peace,

      Adrienne

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

