Una Nina Tiene que Comer (A Girls Got to Eat): A Cinco de Mayo Post with Really bad High School Spanish

Colorful Mexican Decorations
Colorful Mexican Decorations

Hola Amigos y Familia,

I’ve gotten muy buena feedback on my comida pictures. I’ve decided to make a food related picture post a regular feature on the blog.  Mi amigos can confirm that I’ve been snapping pictures of my plate; their plates; while looking over at other people’s plates; for a good while.  I know this behavior goes against, my Grandma Inez’, admonishment to “keep your eyes on your own plate”
and basic standards of etiquette and decorum but, I can’t help myself. I think the only reason I still get invitations to dine is because my friends are equally as fanatical about food. Also, they need someone to split the check with. Dime  con quien adas y dedre quien eres – show me your friends and I’ll tell you who  you are.

So stay tuned for the food pictures.  I hope you will enjoy them as much as I like taking them.  I’m also hoping this passion for food in a picture surpasses my passion for food on my palate; it could result in an expanded wallet and a whittled waistline.

In honor of Cinco de Mayo and my first A Girls Got to Eat post here is a picture of the Huevos Rancheros I had para el desayuno de hoy.  El restaurante is a “tenured” establishment en el barrio and I am a regular because the food is excellent, economical and the vibe is unaffected and chill.  These things are muy importante and are near extinct in my neighborhood; ever since it has become one of the “it places” to live in Brooklyn.

Un Delicioso Desayuno

Un Delicioso Desayuno

Feliz Cinco de Mayo.

El Paz,

Un Arbol Crece en Brooklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in clinton hill, Creative Non-Fiction, Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Una Nina Tiene que Comer (A Girls Got to Eat): A Cinco de Mayo Post with Really bad High School Spanish

  1. Susanne says:

    Oh yummy! I love a great food pix! But the “green” sauce looks a little spicy. I need my food “boo la da” with the red, green and yellow peppers definiely NOT in evidence. I do still love looking at the spicy stuff — especially the veggies!

    How bad is it that I understand your Spanish and think it’s great? hmmmmm

    Feliz Cinco de Mayo!

  2. Feliz Cinco de Mayo, those huevos rancheros look positively delicious. I love comida Latina, it is my Panamanian roots, Hay que rico!

    • Garcias; asimismo. This restaurant does el desayuno right every day of the year, but I love to go on Cinco de Mayo! (Don’t you just love eating with a theme? 🙂

      I too have an affinity for Latin food. I cook a little and I live within distance of Puerto Rican, Mexican, and Cuban restaurants.

      I have been to Panama and la comida es deliciosa y la gente es agradable. Roots run deep! 😉

      • Feliz Cinco de Mayo, hope the food is the best for you today! LOL

        • Thanks! It was a good grazing day; with my Cinco de Mayo being a little cross cultural. 😉 I had Mexican Huevos rancheros with tasty café con leche; just like you saw in the post. For dinner we went for Middle Eastern food; a large Mezze platter for sharing.

          • Sounds like a perfect day to me. That’s one of the things I miss about NY, the availability of foods from around the world, and the goodness of it!

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

