Can You Guess Where I’ve Been?

F&F,

I took my act out-of-town.  Can you guess where  I’ve been?  I didn’t travel by railroad and I didn’t travel across to the other side of the country. I’m learning that “interesting” is as likely to “live” across the street as it to reside across the country.  Also, this wasn’t a 20 day journey but, more like a 2 day outing.

Here are a few more clues:

I traveled  via dog.

The place I  visited was once the playground for the wealthy.

Susan Sarandon was nominated for an Academy Award for her performance in the film  named after this place.

It is the home of the world’s longest boardwalk.

It is the  former home of the Miss America Pageant.

This place  inspired the popular board game Monopoly.

The answer  is (drum roll) – Atlantic City!

I got to tag along with my cousin who was presenting workshops at a conference in Atlantic  City.

I traveled via Greyhound bus (see 1st clue) on the special service called the Lucky Streak.  It’s a great deal; at $35. You get an open ended round trip ticket and $20 credit for gaming. The buses  have reclining seats, foot rests, electrical outlets and internet access via  Wi-Fi. I bunked with my cousin so, accommodations were free (although I did put  in a little sweat equity by helping to prepare workshop handouts and toting the  biggest box of Leggos I’ve ever seen).

There was fine weather in Atlantic City and I did notice a few hearty folks on the beach and in the water but, at 70 (breezy) degrees I thought it was to cool to strip down to my bathing suit.  Instead, I spent 2 days enjoying the sunshine and the sea air while wondering the world’s longest boardwalk.  I did window shopping at the upscale Pier Mall and did actual shopping at the more budget friendly Atlantic City Outlets. I played the slots and had a little taste of boardwalk cuisine (?) fried fish and chips, corn dogs and cotton candy.  I’m hoping that all the walking I did will offset the grazing.

Here are just a few snapshots from Atlantic City.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Photography, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Can You Guess Where I’ve Been?

  1. Susanne says:

    Wow — looks like it was a great trip! I haven’t been to AC in a while but it looks just like it did when I was there. I hope you were lucky on the slots and went home with more money, more money, more money!

    I know that the sea air was refreshing and wonderful. Thanks for taking me with you once again.

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

