Eye Spy

Hi F&F,

I am an urban hiker. As the weather improves I’ve been venturing out more often and traveling greater distances.  I am often surprised by what crosses my path on these outings. On a recent walk, this Hello Kitty Mini Cooper car stopped me in my tracks. After a giggle, I whipped out my cellphone and snapped this shot (it’s hard for me to believe, I once thought a camera in a phone was a silly idea).

Hello Kitty; Where's Your Owner?

Sanrio, the Japanese company that created the Hello Kitty character, is celebrating its 50th anniversy. The company’s tag line is small gift, big smile. That was true when I was interested in such things. I had an inexpensive Hello Kitty note pad and pencil case when I was about 13 and I vaguely recall having stickers; as well. At that time just a small investment was required to be a part of the fun associated with the popular icon. Apparently, the cutesy character is still popular and going strong; now with big ticket items. Luggage and fine jewelry being among the “small gift” items for sale.  It kind of makes the company’s tag line a punch line; don’t you think?

I wonder who would buy such a car? There wasn’t an owner in sight, but given the neighborhood, in which it was parked, I’d like to think that the car owner was a former street smart resident of the “hood”.  A roughneck thug turned hip-hop superstar; revisiting his roots and in touch with the child within; with an appreciation for the ironical.  Either that; or the car belongs to a large troop of clowns looking for a pickup game of b-ball at the nearby playground.

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Curiosities & Oddities, Photography, Pop Culture and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Eye Spy

  1. Susanne says:

    Curiousier and curiousier – could it just be a matchbox car on steroids masquerading as a real car.

    Oh the sights you’ll see when you just choose to be – on an urban walk, thinking with an open mind, available to all the possibilities!

    Great post — thanks for the “things that make you go . . .” moment.

  2. lm1947 says:

    Only someone who is not planning to re-sell the car would buy something this cute! Need I say, it must be a woman?

  3. Angie~Lah says:

    I’m 34 and still collect Hello Kitty stuff. 😐 lol And I want this car, even though I find the body ugly as sin. The paint job is awesome, though.

    • Hi Angie~Lah,

      Thanks for visiting the site. Collecting Hello Kitty is cool. If you said you were collecting My Little Pony stuff, I’d be scared. Also, you are right about the aesthetics of the car. I’m a little like that car; my body is not that great but, when I put on the right makeup; folks are willing to take me for a ride. 🙂

      Peace,
      Adrienne (ATreeGrowsinBklyn)

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

