Hair Migration or Seasonal to-and-Afro

Hi F&F,

It is Memorial Day weekend; unofficially regarded as the start of the summer season. I don’t need the calendar to tell me that it’s summer; nor do I need the weatherman to officially name it; for me to claim it.  You see, I have an instrument more accurate than a meteorologist’s thermometer, barometer, or hygrometer.  I have the hair on my head.

As I type this, my hair is expanding like a weather balloon preparing to take flight. I once dreaded this annual migration (up and out) of my hair.  I use to try to beat it into submission with lotions and potions; trying to discipline it according to someone else’s rules of proper hair decorum. My efforts were futile and costly. I’ve stopped fighting nature.

Now I welcome this transformation.  It marks my connection with the other beasts of the earth. The Atlantic salmon rushing up stream; will not be stopped. The Wildebeests of the Serengeti plains; traveling over 1600 miles to Kenya’s Masai Mara; will not be stopped.  My hair cannot be stopped.  I like the fact that on those sizzling and steamy days of summer when I just want to lay down and stay put; my hair has the gumption to get up and go.

My hair responds to all the seasons, but with summer, it rises to the occasion.  I’d like to think it’s giving our guardian a standing ovation; showing some love; giving respect; you might say.  The revolution of the Earth around the Sun brings the seasons. My evolution as a person has taught me to relax and be a witness to the beauty; to be grateful to be alive to experience another summer.

I love India.Arie’s song I am not my Hair.  I embrace the songs sentiments; but in the summer, when my hair is unapologetically unruly, audacious and so in your face (and sometimes in my face); I wish I was more like my hair.

Here’s another haiku.

The hair on my head

A rebellious kinky thing

Belies my nature

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in beauty, Creative Non-Fiction, Culture, humor, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Hair Migration or Seasonal to-and-Afro

  1. lm1947 says:

    A,

    Don’t worry about the hair as that is just a small annoyance. We love your inner beauty. Some people, in fact many, would think that I just dished out a canned answer. Those that truly know you would agree that your inner goodness, your child-like sincerity and your empathy is what we love.

    By the by, I would love to shave my head right about now.

    Best

  2. Susanne says:

    There is nothing I like more than “difficult, defiant, disobedient women!” (These words were once yelled at me in what the “clergy man” thought was the height of insult. His teeth jumped out of his mouth as he screamed at me, but he caught them and shoved them back into his mouth. He then proceeded to try and tell me how “good” women behaved. He made a lasting impression, just not the one he was aiming for!)

    Well, actually I love those difficult, defiant, disobedient women who have to hair to prove it even more! You go gurl! (And your beauty is shining inside and out!)

  3. Penny says:

    Great read. You are a very gifted writer( and I’m not passing judgment). You mentioned you started your blog while on a train trip across the country. Were you already writing? Something, somewhere?
    By the way, my hair is also a barometer. Not only does it report the current weather conditions, It is also, an emotional barometer. Strange. When I’m happy my hair looks happy, curly, full, standing up and away from my head, proud. When things aren’t going well, it’s limp as a rice noodle. Have you had occasion to notice if your hair has an emotional IQ?

    • Hi Penny (sister in curl),
      Thanks so much for visiting the blog and for your kind words of support.

      I am a rank amateur. I don’t count the occasional memo or revising dry policy and procedures as writing. I’ve never even kept a personal journal. The trip was the start of it all.

      I’ve never tested the emotional intelligence of my hair, but I am very intrigued. I’m prompted to observe it more closely through that prism. If you are correct in what you say – then hair could be a dangerous tell; as they say in gambling circles. I’ve been in plenty of situations feeling uncertain, ill prepared for the task a thand, but I believe in the power of fake it until you make it. I’d hate to think my hair would rat me out in my moments of insecurity and doubt. I better by a wig. 😉

      Please visit again.

      Peace,
      AtreeGrowsinBklyn (Adrienne)

  4. Penny says:

    oops sorry meant to also say, I’m looking forward to reading more of your lovely writings. 🙂

  5. I cut off all my hair and have never been happier. You’re quite an attractive woman. It pains me to see us fretting about our god given hair. I will do several posts on hair and how it relates to society and self esteem.

    • Hi D of N,

      Thank you for reading and posting a comment. How interesting that a post written over a year ago should gain notice and get two comments in the same day. My piece was an (afro) puff piece compared to how the subject (black women and their hair) is often discussed. 😉

      It’s excellent that you’ve found a hairdo that speaks to your personal sense of style and your life style. I look forward to reading, further, your views on the psychology of hair.

      Also, thanks for the compliment regarding my appearance. My appearance, as it is for everyone, is the curious result of the admixture of the ancestors. All praise to the forebears!

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

