A Romantic Gesture; Surely you Jest?

Hi F&F,

Never pass up the opportunity to explore  your hometown like a tourist.  You are  sure to discover something new. Today I acted like a tourist with the assistance of the New York City Parks Department.

I live in Brooklyn, New York and have walked  across the Brooklyn Bridge many, many times.  The experience is a form of entertainment and exercise. Today I took the  walk with an Urban Park Ranger; as part of a walking tour called – Spanning Time: Brooklyn and Manhattan Bridge Walk

We met at Brooklyn’s Borough Hall.  The Urban Park Ranger guided our small group of  explorers through downtown  Brooklyn.  As we made our way towards the Brooklyn Bridge she pointed out the architectural details of Borough Hall, the Court House and other structures.  She also provided historical facts about Brooklyn’s past.

The highlight for me was crossing over the Brooklyn Bridge. Usually when I’m crossing the bridge, I am gazing out  at the famous view of the Manhattan skyline or my head is down as I power walk my way across the span.  This time across, the Ranger directed my eyes towards a new and unusual sight.  All along the pedestrian path were hundreds of small padlocks attached to the fence.  I learned these padlocks are called “padlocks of love”.

The story is – couples attach the locks to the bridge and then throw the keys over the side into the East River.  The act symbolizes their everlasting love.  While my fellow “tourists” “ooh’d” and “aaahhh’d” over the romantic and sweet custom; in my head I kept hearing Gwen Guthrie singing Padlock and Billie Holiday’s I’m Gonna Lock my Heart. I’m a gifted cynic and the bow on my gift was when the Ranger went on to say that the locks were periodically clipped and removed by the maintenance crew. Isn’t it just the perfect metaphor for “love” relationships?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in brooklyn, Curiosities & Oddities, new york city, Photography, solo travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Romantic Gesture; Surely you Jest?

  1. Susanne says:

    As always, your posts inspire me! I’ll be in the city next week AND I’ll definitely be looking into:
    1. food with you
    2. making the journey across the bridge(s) on foot
    3. exploring just like a tourist
    and
    4. definitely seeing a Broadway play followed by food at Juniors

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

