Eye Spy: A Street Corner Rumble in the County of Kings

Hi F&F,

While taking care of some business in downtown Brooklyn, I came across 2 tough guys taking care of business on the street corner.  It was a turf war.  Two fierce competitors fighting to be king.  The battle was not with guns and knives; it was a battle of strategy and tactics. The weapon; intellect.  It was a chess game.  Oh how I wish it were a demonstration of an alternative to the gang violence that plagues urban areas and has spread to the suburban and rural areas of our country.  Alas, what I was witnessing was a chess demonstration to advertise a chess summer camp for children.

A Rumble Worthy of Kings County

I’m not giving up the hope of replacing street gangs with chess teams. I think gangs could be enticed if we started by giving them some  super-cool team names to replace their gang tags. The Bloods could be called the Black Bishops; the Crips will be the Checkmates, Cojones Squad will henceforth be the Pawn Storm and the Latin Kings – well they could keep their old name.  You get the idea?

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Creative Non-Fiction, Curiosities & Oddities, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Eye Spy: A Street Corner Rumble in the County of Kings

  1. lm1947 says:

    Thank you. That is so New York that I wish people in other parts of the country would see and read this post. There is so much good in NYC that often goes unnoticed.

    We are such cool people.

  2. Susanne says:

    Truth! NYC rocks AND is definitely worth the exploration with an open mind!

    Still hoping to see you soon.

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

