A World Wide Knit in Public Post or Suffering for my art

Hi F&F,

Here are a few pictures from the World Wide Knit in Public (WWKP) festivities held at Bryant Park in New York City. It was cold and raining; just the kind of weather that inspires you to knit warm woolen afghans, blankets and lapghans. The problem was you want to be knitting in the warm and the dry, preferably with a steaming mug of Lady Grey tea by your side, rather than actually knitting in the cold and the wet (fortunately, we were working with insoluble  fiber).

The centerpiece of the Bryant Park WWKP event was to be “The Big Circle”. The Big Circle at Bryant Park was a continuation of a community art/knitting project from Amsterdam. The idea was to take what is often a solitary endeavor and fashion it as a community activity. Seventy-five people could knit together at the same time at “The Big Circle” to create a huge blanket. Unfortunately, the inclement weather kept many people away so we never achieved our full complement of knitters. None the less, for us diehard and demented determined knitters it was a special experience. Huddling under the umbrellas and draped in the multicolored blanket we were working on; we were connected both literally and figuratively. What I loved most was the diversity of the knitters gathered. The “circle knitters” were men and women; young and old; gay and straight; knitting newbies and knitting experts. We all shared a love for the craft and that gave us a common “language” that prompted the sharing of stories.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I am really glad that I didn’t let the weather deter me from participating in the event because while I may have been a little cold and wet on the outside; I was all warm and fuzzy on the inside.

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Art, Culture, Curiosities & Oddities, Events, knitting, new york city and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A World Wide Knit in Public Post or Suffering for my art

  1. Susanne says:

    Woman, you are fierce! We absolutely have to get together and have an adventure! I’ll be in NYC the week of the 20th of June – I’ll write you to find out when we can do something “interesting” together. We both love food, the quirky doesn’t scare either of us SO something should organically be able to “happen”.

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

