Swedish Midsummer Festival in Battery Park or Svensk Midsommar Festival i Battery Park

Hi F&F,

When I think about the Swedes (which truthfully, isn’t all that often) I think about efficiency and timeliness.  So you can imagine my surprise to learn that those traits don’t necessary travel well. Case in point was the Swedish Midsummer Festival held on Friday at Robert F. Wagner Park in Battery Park.

The opening ceremony, followed by live performances, dancing around a maypole and a sing a long were to start at 5:00 pm but, I found out the Swedes operate on CPT  – Colored People’s Time; meaning late. Kick off didn’t happen until close to 6:00 pm and  some of the food vendors were still setting up at that time. This seemed to be common knowledge among the Swedes because no one seemed perturbed about the late start. Everyone was very laid back. People continued to stroll in well after the posted start time and no one was disturbed when the light rain started. They just kept coming.

It’s a small world after all and weather in Sweden or in the USA summer is a time to enjoy the outdoors.  This event was presented by the Battery Park City Conservancy and co-hosted by the Console General of Sweden. Midsummer is one of the most important holidays of the year in Sweden. This event felt like a family reunion for Swedish expatriates or people of Swedish ancestry.  For non-Swedes it was a fun 3 hour survey course in Swedish customs and culture.

I was a little nervous about getting my camera wet in the rain but, I did manage to take a few snapshots to share.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Fred,

Ett träd växer I Brooklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Culture, Events, new york city and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

