This Ain’t Your Mother’s Jell-O: The 2011 Jell-O Mold Competition

Hi F&F,

Jell-O; that wiggly jiggly dessert that probably gave you the giggles when you were a kid; was being used as a plaything by a group of creative and playful adults on Saturday night.  Usually adult fun with the gelatin dessert can mean one of two things – Jell-O shots (done that) or wrestling in Jell-O (have not done that; yet) and I think the latter activity is greatly aided by the imbibing (or is it eating) of the former. This evening the adult fun was of a different sort.  At the Gowanus Studio Space, adults were encouraged and rewarded for playing with their food. The art space was the site of a unique visual art and culinary art happening called “Jell-O Takes New York”. It was the 2011 Jell-O mold competition.

“Jell-O Takes New York” was a competition to use gelatin and its shape shifting and shape retaining properties to make edible art.  The entries included the humorous to the horrific; the fanciful to the frightening, the sweet to the savory.  There were 4 “professional” judges who awarded prizes in categories such as creativity, aesthetics, ingenuity, edibility/culinary appeal and best use and showcase of Jell-O. The audience was allowed to taste, touch and talk with the artists/chefs and cast votes to select a recipient of a “People’s Choice Award”.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It was an interesting Saturday night that turned into Sunday morning. The sugar, liquor and caffeine I consumed, in the name of fair judging, gave me a weird buzz that kept me awake  until 3:00 am.

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Art, Culture, Curiosities & Oddities, Events, Pop Culture and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

