Weekly Photo Challenge: Mountains

Hi F&F,

I’m a native of New York City and I know the local topography like the back of my hands.  I knew this weeks’ photo challenge was going to be-well, a challenge.  There aren’t any mountains in the 5 boroughs of New York City.  In fact, the highest point within the city, Todt Hill in Staten Island, is a measly 412 feet above sea level.  That’s not very impressive. Whoever said size doesn’t matter wasn’t an Orologist. When it comes to mountains; size is everything!

I am feeling a little mountain envy; after glancing at some of the packages photo entries but, I’m committed to participating in this weekly exercise.  What I lack in size I make up in imagination; so cut me some slack people; it was either this picture, or a picture of my dirty laundry basket.

Here is my entry for this week’s photo challenge.

Go Tell it's a Mountain!

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Photo, Photography, postaweek2011, weekly photo challeng and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Mountains

  1. NYcowgirl says:

    I like that!

  2. huffygirl says:

    I say great punting in the mountain category.

    BTW, “A tree grows in Brooklyn” was one of my favorite books in my teen years – a classic.

    • Hi huffygirl,
      Thanks for viewing and commenting on my entry for the photo challenge.

      A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith is one of my favorite books also. It is one of the few books that I’ve read more than once. I live very near to the Williamsburg neighborhood in which the story takes place. While a great deal has changed in that area, there are still some apartment buildings and storefronts that seemed to have jumped right off the pages of the book.

      BTW is there a story behind your name? Is huffygirl a personality trait or does it refer to your interest in cycling? I hope it is the latter. Your name reminded me of my first bike. I had a sparkly purple Huffy. It had a banana seat, and purple and white streamers on the ends of the handlebars. My friends and I rode everywhere on our bikes and we would put on bike ballets; which is kind of like synchronized swimming; without the water or the unflavored gelatin.

      Peace,
      ATreeGrowsinBklyn

  3. northernnarratives says:

    Excellent choice. Judy

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Mountains « Flickr Comments by FrizzText

  5. Great interpretation of the weekly challenge. Glad you didn’t have to use your mountain of dirty clothes. LOL. I don’t have mountains nearby to photograph either so I used my daughter’s interpretaion on canvas.

  6. suitablefish says:

    I love the post, the photo, your Mountains of imagination.

  7. Yor Ryeter says:

    That’s a mountain all right! 🙂

  8. Touch2Touch says:

    Tree,
    By me, that’s definitely a mountain!
    And too high for me, like other kinds of mountains.
    Cleverly done.

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Mountains « Memoirs Of A Madonna

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Mountain | Inside Out Cafe

  11. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Mountain | this man's journey

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

