Weekly Photo Challenge: Flowers

Hi F&F:

Three Reasons why Flower Photography is Fun:

  1. Flowers are freakin photogenic
  2. Flowers don’t fuss while you’re fussing with the f-stops
  3. Color baby!!!

Here are my entries for this week’s photo challenge.

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Photo, Photography, postaweek2011, Uncategorized, weekly photo challenge and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Flowers

  1. Love roses. I bet the fragrance is wonderful in the air. Great photos.

  2. colorbliss says:

    these flowers are lovely! I guess it’s wonderful to see this while walking around town… A truly source of joy.

    • Walking is my favorite form of exercise because of the container gardens and window boxes I pass along the way. It makes my workout less like work and more like fun. I’m always grateful for the folks with the green thumbs.

  3. Touch2Touch says:

    Wonderful contrast of soft, brilliant roses against stern brownstone!

    My grandmother lived in Williamsburg back when it was Orthodox Jewish (before trendy restaurants, you better believe, there was a penny candy store across the street and that was it) -Your first photo really brings back memories — although make the ornate metal work absolutely plain, and take away any hint of flowers or green — and you’d be closer. It was a hard place then, brown and plain and stony. I’m 77 years old, so you know how far back we’re going —
    What a difference roses might have made! But that’s a cultural and generational and I-don’t-know-what-else difference, and would never have been.

    • I’m glad you liked the pictures. Williamsburg is just a stones throw from where I live. It is changing in many ways but, it still has a hardness to it. It could use the “softening” that plants and flowers bring.

  4. Love the photos! Nice job!

    • I’m glad you love the photos. I was walking to meet a friend and turned down this one street to find this one house festooned with roses. Everything was in place; no set up or manipulation required; a life as still-life moment.

  5. lm1947 says:

    You are right on target my friend.

  6. Love the bicycle shot. Beautiful.

  7. 2e0mca says:

    A nice set of urban shots. I love the colour-coded wheel rims on the bicycle – they go so well with the roses! Loved the comments about why Flower Photography is Fun 🙂

  8. I can’t choose. All 3 photos are just beautiful. I wish I have a view like that. The colors are fun, bright, vivid!

    • Thanks for visiting. There’s no pressure to choose; simply enjoy all three. I think they are best appreciated as a series. The shots are all of the same house; with the pictures being taken one after another; from different angles.

  9. Wonderful photos! Loved the second one, especially! Thankyou for the link, though=)

  10. Roses are always my favorite and I really like the second shot, there’s something very romantic about it 🙂

    • I like roses a lot. My birthday is in June and as pearl is the birthstone for the month of June; roses are the birth flower for the month. The picture was taken June 2nd; the day before my birthday; an early birthday gift 🙂

  11. Touch2Touch says:

    They still play tag in Brooklyn, don’t they?
    Well, I’ve tagged you, and you’re it (if you so choose) —

    Here’s the challenge:
    http://touch2touch.wordpress.com/2011/08/22/seven-link-challenge/#more-3500

    • Hi Touch2Touch,

      Thank you for saying nice things about my blog on your site. Also, thanks for inviting me to participate in the challenge. I will give it a try.

      Peace,
      ATreeGrowsinBklyn

      as I continue on this journey; this life.

  12. Alison says:

    The bicycle shot reminds me of daily sights here in the Netherlands, especially the way it looks like the flowers are almost twined around the bike. We see a lot of bikes decorated with flowers here. 🙂

    • Thanks for taking a look at my entry. The picture seemed very European to me too. I’ve been to Amsterdam and I’ve seen the decorated bicycles you mentioned. The picture was taken in New York City; formerly New Amsterdam. 🙂 Here, a concern about the environment and the high price of gas has increased the popularity of biking.

  13. Mizz says:

    Love the bicycle 🙂

  14. Patti Kuche says:

    Those summer blooms are breathtaking, fabulous!

  15. Pingback: The Seven Links Challenge | atreegrowsinbklyn

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

