Weekly Photo Challenge: Up

Hi F&F,

I won a lottery but, don’t even think about hitting me up for money; because I didn’t win any.  What I won was, the chance to join the Revolutionary New York: Battle of Brooklyn Van Tour.  It was conducted by the Urban Park Ranges of the New York City Parks Department and was just one of the many events held in Brooklyn to commemorate the anniversary of the Battle of Brooklyn (August 27, 1776).

Our small group of 10 climbed aboard a minivan to visit many of the historic sites around Brooklyn; related to the war and to that battle. One of the stops was in my own backyard of Fort Greene Park.

The picture for this week’s challenge is a look up inside the Prison Ship Martyrs Monument in Fort Greene Park. Everyone can visit the monument that is at the center of the park but, very few people are allowed inside the Doric column that sits atop the crypt.  It is the resting place of the remains of over 11,000 prisoners of war from the Revolutionary War.  So while we gazed upward, our thoughts drifted downward to honor the brave men and women buried below.

Here is my entry for this week’s challenge.

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Curiosities & Oddities, fort greene, Photo, Photography, postaweek2011, weekly photo challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Up

  1. pix & kardz says:

    What a great story! Thanks for sharing it. Your photo is a very unique interpretation of ‘up’.

  2. lm1947 says:

    Fantastic photograph of a very sad chapter in our history. Would love to see for myself; will you be my guide?

    • It was an interesting tour. When the weather is nice I often sit in the shadow of the monument to knit or read or just have a rest after walking the park. I’ve always wondered what was inside. I wish they would allow entrance to the crypt below but, the Ranger said that even they don’t have access to it. The military maintains it and strangely they conduct honor ceremonies and place wreaths in private. I will let you know the next time they open it up for viewing.

  3. Touch2Touch says:

    Amazing! You won a great deal more than money!
    You won a moment in history, and a story, and insight, and a connection over the centuries, in fact, you are a very rich woman.

  4. grannydog says:

    I can only imagine what it must have been like to be there, realizing the history of it. And the photo is definitely saying “UP”!

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Up (9/11 edition) « Mike's Take…

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

