The Seven Links Challenge

Hi F&F:

This blog was born out of a desire to share pictures, provide updates and communicate with friends and family as I traveled across country via railroad.  Six months later; I am off the rails and I am still blogging. Family and friends have now been joined by strangers.  Yo-Yo Ma said that “Good things happen when you meet strangers”.  I can attest to the truth in that.  I’ve “met” so many interesting people through blogging; and strangers have become less “strange” (?) because of it.

One of the less strange-strangers is Judith.  Judith has a blog called Touch2Touch. She participated in a blog post challenge called the Seven Links Challenge and invited me to give it a go. The idea is to list 7 links (I’ve listed more) to posts that correspond to 7 questions.  Finally, I am asked to “play it forward” and invite 3 bloggers to take on the challenge.

Here it is.

Most Beautiful Post: Gee Wiz, it’s Like Walking in the Emerald City.  This post has a few  beautiful pictures of my neighborhood at its’ lush best. If photos aren’t your thing, I think Happy Mother’s Day to Everyone…and I do Mean Everyone has beautiful sentiment.

Most Popular Post: Based on numbers of views, Una Nina Tiene que Comer (A Girls Got to Eat): A Cinco de Mayo Post with Really bad High School Spanish was the most popular. If popularity can be reflected in the number of comments – it’s a tie between Photo Challenges; Textured and Flowers.

Most Controversial Post: Crown Heights Gold: An art Exhibit Commemorates the 20th Anniversary of the Crown Heights Riot. Some people see the word race as a four letter word and anti-Semitism should be universally reviled and yet, regrettably, it is not. My post wasn’t controversial, but the subject matter might make people feel uncomfortable; I say good.

The Post That Didn’t Get the Attention ( I Think) it Deserved: Wired for Sound or I’m Ready to Become Bionic. It’s a rant disguised as (what I thought was a humorous) post. I thought  it would prompt people to share their frustrations with technology and or planned obsolescence; it didn’t.

The Surprisingly Successful Post:  If success is purely based on the number of views, again the winner would be Una Nina Tiene que Comer (A Girls Got to Eat): A Cinco de Mayo Post with Really bad High School Spanish.  It was a quick holiday themed post based on my breakfast (go figure?).  It received lots of views   yet very few comments. Alternately,  The Little Engine that Could; Did – received a moderate amount of views but prompted a great many text messages from family and friends regarding the accommodations on the train.  To respond to the off-line inquiries I posted A Few More Words: The Amtrak Roomette and upon my return home I found and posted more pictures to satisfy the curious; in Roomette Revisited.

Most Helpful Post: Ten + One Marvelous Things About Minneapolis Minnesota. It’s a pithy post for the Minneapolis bound tourist.

Most Proud-of PostApril Fools’ Day – The Most Wonderful Time of the Year. It’s the post that started it all and in a way captures  my personal mission statement.

I’m new to writing for the pure pleasure of it but, I’ve always loved to read.  Mostly I read books, but I’m learning that a good story is just as likely to be found on a pixel  as a page.

Here are just 3 of the blogs I’ve been reading. I hope you will check them out and I hope that they will take up the Seven Links Challenge.

Black Women Living Well

Northern Narratives

Stir

Thanks for reading!

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Challenge, Daily Living, Life, postaweek2011, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Seven Links Challenge

  1. northernnarratives says:

    Thank you so much for inviting me to join the Seven Links Challenge. I am honored that you chose me to participate. However, I have decided that I am not interested in this challenge. Thank you once again for thinking of me 🙂

  2. bwlivingwell says:

    Hey there!!
    Thanks for including me in your Seven Links Challenge!! I will try to complete this in the next week or so 🙂

    Live Well!

  3. Touch2Touch says:

    At last I’ve got the time to read this post!
    You rose nobly to the 7-link challenge—
    I enjoyed reading posts I hadn’t seen before (Brooklyn as Eden, the Emerald City; Mother’s Day; fascinating train ride over the Alps, oops, Rockies)
    and revisiting others, like the marvelous slide show of Minneapolis, and the sensitive and nuanced discussion of Crown Heights, which deserves a wide viewership.
    Saludos a vuestra blog, long may it wave!

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

