Weekly Photo Challenge: Fall

Hi F&F,

American Chefs, such as Alice Waters in California and Dan Barber in New York are credited with championing the seasonal eating ethos.  I give them credit for boosting the trend but, really what we have is a reiteration of what frugal home cooks have known all along. Home cooks know that when you hit the market you buy what is economical; and by default that usually ends up being what’s in its peak season and thus plentiful and flavorful.

For me, nothing says fall like Brassica oleracea, Capitata; cabbage. As the weather gets brisk you begin to see a better quality in the stores and that’s when the hearty dishes get rolled out – savoy cabbage with Italian sausages, braised red cabbage with bratwurst (just in time for Oktoberfest), and beef short ribs with cabbage. All dishes that stick to your ribs. They warm you from the inside out providing comfort against the first frost of autumn; right through to the spring thaw.

Here is my entry for this weeks photo challenge and an “easy peasy” recipe that is in regular rotation in my kitchen during the fall.

Pan Fried Cabbage

ingredients:

5-6 strips of bacon or Pancetta

1 head cabbage, biased sliced

1 large onion sliced

Salt and pepper to taste

Low salt fat-free chicken broth or water

procedure:

In a large frying pan render the bacon or pancetta over a medium-low flame. Remove the bacon and drain on a paper towel (crumble when cool enough to handle and save for the garnish). Sweat the onions for 2 or 3 minutes in the bacon drippings using the same frying pan. Add the sliced cabbage and gently toss to coat all with the bacon drippings (tongs work well for this).Add a little  chicken broth a tablespoon at a time to deglaze the pan. Continue to cook the cabbage and onions for another 5 – 10 minutes or until crisp tender and light golden in color. Correct seasoning with salt and pepper. Top with the crumbled bacon just before serving.

Bon appétit,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Daily Living, Food, Photo, Photography, postaweek2011, Uncategorized, weekly photo challenge and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Fall

  1. pix & kardz says:

    sounds yummy. let me know when you make some and i’ll be there 🙂
    thanks for sharing.

  2. Alison says:

    I’ve been thinking of putting cabbage back into the mix soon, too.

  3. eof737 says:

    I love that picture… like a giant purple flower… I don’t eat cabbage much but an occasional dish is worth it to me… and, as you reminded us, it is in season now… Time for me to make a little something. TY! 😉

  4. nrhatch says:

    Great pic for a fall photo.

    One of my favorite cabbage dishes is Colcannon. If you’re interested:
    http://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2011/03/17/colcannon-irish-smashed-tatties/

  5. Touch2Touch says:

    Sounds delicious, and I adore cabbage, so plan to try it (just happen to have a couple of bacon slices in the freezer).
    But will the cabbage really be cooked crisp-tender in 5 minutes? And is the flame still medium-low for the cooking?
    ??????

    • I just broadened the timing in the recipe. I use the texture and visual cues to determine “doneness” because a lot depends on the size of your sliced cabbage. I like to slice mine very thin; almost the equivalent of a julienne cut or a chiffonade. In fact, in a pinch, you can use the packaged cabbage used for coleslaw.

      You can increase the temperature of the flame to a full medium if you are sure you’ve completely deglazed the pan. If you can’t get all the bacon bits scraped up from the bottom you risk it burning and ruining all the lovely flavor you’ve been working for. I like to work it slowly almost like making caramelized onions.

      I like to serve the cabbage with something fresh/tart to offset the smoky richness of the cabbage. Simple grilled fish with a squeeze of lemon juice or sometimes I’ll make a quick balsamic vinegar and honey reduction to spoon on top of the fish. Also, if you want to stay with the pork theme (and why not?); grilled pork chops rubbed with garlic and seasoned with lemon pepper works well with the dish.

      Enjoy!

  6. northernnarratives says:

    That sure sounds delicious 🙂 Judy

  7. nycowgirl1947@wordpress.com says:

    Sounds easy enough even for those of us who are allergic to cooking. Beautiful pictures as well.

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

