Weekly Photo Challenge: Sunset

Hi F&F

I think there are 2 kinds of sunsets. There are the vacation sunsets; those are the ones we anticipate eagerly.  They usually occur in some exotic locale. We photograph them and store the images in photo albums and in our memory banks. They are noteworthy events.

Vacation Sunset II

Vacation Sunset I

 Then there are the workday sunsets; the sunsets we experience at home.   We dread them. They mark the passing of another long day and we barely take notice of them as we make our way home from work, school and other obligations.

The vacation sunset and the workday sunset are the same.  It is the same daily disappearance of the Sun but our responses to the events are different because we are different in those situations.The vacation “us” is living in the present and fully in the moment; trying to absorb the experience like a sponge absorbs water.  We want the experience to fill us up.

The workday “us” is looking ahead; (usually with anxiety) towards the next thing to be done.  We are not in the present and we are not eagerly anticipating the future, so we are really nowhere.  When I looked up the word “nowhere” with the Encarta Dictionary; one of the definitions was – “a remote or insignificant place”. That doesn’t sound like a very hospitable place. It seems like living in nowhere would be no fun.

For this photo challenge entry I have a vacation sunset and a workday sunset.  I had a sunset picture taken while on vacation in Kauai, Hawaii; on hand.  I didn’t have any workday sunset pictures; so when I tried to find images, I had to really work hard to see the beauty in my very ordinary surroundings.  This week the challenge was to be “present” enough to capture a moment with the camera.

Workday Sunset I

Workday Sunset II

For me vacation will always be eagerly anticipated but I intend to practice being more present in my daily life. I don’t want to live in “nowhereland”.

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in brooklyn, Challenge, clinton hill, Photo, Photography, postaweek2011, Uncategorized, weekly photo challenge and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Sunset

  1. Liked the last photo the most! 🙂

    • Hi Sorren,

      Me too! Would you belive, It is a place I pass everyday. It is just a sad, and all to common, case of looking but not really seeing. Ive learned a lesson here that won’t be forgotten.

      Thanks so much for your feedback.

      Peace,
      Tree

  2. ceceliafutch says:

    An excellent post, very thought-filled. How often we miss the events and beauty in our own back yard as we long for the exotic. I am impressed with your photos and your reflections. A nice way to start the day, and a good reminder to be present with eyes wide open. 🙂

    • Hi Ceceliafutch,

      I am glad you enjoyed the pictures and words. I’m so grateful to learn that the post may help put you in the right mindset to see all that there is to see. Take it all in and enjoy!! 🙂

      Here’s looking at you kid,
      Tree

  3. NYcowgirl says:

    Beautiful pictures and very wise words. We need to enjoy the moment by living in the present.

  4. thirdhandart says:

    Very nice sunset photos and a thought-provoking post! Thank you for the pingback.

  5. Touch2Touch says:

    What Cecilia said, with bells on!
    (that last shot is something special)

  6. nrhatch says:

    Excellent post and plan . . . Be Here Now. 😀

  7. pix & kardz says:

    there is wisdom in this post.
    thanks for sharing it along with your images.
     
    this is sharing similar thoughts to a recent one of mine, “joy in the journey” which appears as the second image on my archives page at the moment. it will likely move over to third spot once the next challenge is announced, if you would like to compare notes 🙂 – but no pressure.

    • There was all pleasure and no pressure in reading your lovely posts and viewing your amazing pictures. Being present and living in the moment is a universal truth but it isn’t easy to achieve. Entire religions, psychiatric therapies, and some beer commercials are based on trying to get us to make that mental shift.

  8. ElizOF says:

    Those are terrific sunsets. Kudos! 🙂

  9. Beautiful photos. Makes me want to savor each sunset on a regular basis. Thank you.

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Celebration « Mike's Take…

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

