I Don’t Need no Stinkin elfs

Hi F&F

The California Cowl is completed.  It’s full steam ahead with the holiday gifts. Here are a few pictures of the finished cowl.  I put it on so you could see the drap and then I quickly took it off and hermetically sealed it in a ziplock bag for safekeeping.

I’m happy with it. I don’t think it will benefit from the addition of a decorative button; as suggested in the pattern.  I think it would interfere with the drap and lock my niece into wearing it in one fashion.  Without the button she can twist, roll and “sculpt” the piece to suit her style.  A little bling is always nice so as an alternative to the button;  if a see a nice pin that might complete the cowl I’ll add that to the gift.  A pin could be worn on the cowl and removed to wear with other outfits.

As I wrapped up the cowl, I started the gift for her sister; my other niece. Her name is Sue. I’m calling this project Jambières avec une attitude – Legwarmers with attitude.

Sue is a ballet dancer and teacher. She is a stylish fashionista in the dance studio and on the street; so I think she will like the statement making self-striping colorway of the yarn I’m using. It is called Amazing (a rather persumptous name; I think) and it is by Lion Brand. The color is called Mesa. I think that’s a nice coincidence since she also lives in the desert. Also, keeping to my word, the yarn was requisitioned from my existing yarn stash.

This is my first time working with double-pointed needles. I figure, if Sue can work en pointe all day, I can work on double-pointed needles for one project. I’m using 5 needles. It’s been fairly easy; once I got it through my head that I really am only actively working with 2 needles at a time.  The rest are just hanging out as and assist; holding the stitches.

The pattern is very basic.  The yarn color gives pizzaz to the project. The pattern is from Sally Melville’s Experience Book 1: The Knit Stitch.  The book is in my personal library because all the projects can be managed by a beginner. Also, what makes the book especially nice is that the simple patterns yeld simple garments that look sleek, sophisticated and wearable.

I hope she likes them.

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in arts and crafts, Christmas, crafts, crochet, fiber arts, knitting, Photo, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to I Don’t Need no Stinkin elfs

  1. northernnarratives says:

    The cowl looks so nice. I think a pin is a great idea. So many of the cowls have buttons. Nice to be a bit different 🙂

    • Thank you. I looked at some very interesting handmade jewelry on Saturday. I took “names and numbers” but, I didn’t commit to anything as yet. I have in my mind something in silver with a modern look. I love the Frank Gehry collection at Tiffany’s, but it doesn’t include pins and it would be more than I can afford at this time. I hope to find a “knockoff” of his organic shapes.

  2. Touch2Touch says:

    Great color for the legwarmers, it is the desert sunset.
    Those Cali girls are lucky, what a talented aunt they have —- 😉

    • To find enough of that yarn; with that name; within my stash; for this project; was serendipitous. I love when that happens! Those Cali girls are so sweet and talented. I’m one proud aunt.

  3. nrhatch says:

    Aren’t you the BEST AUNT! Beautiful presents. 😀

  4. ElizOF says:

    The cowl is beautiful and yarn for the ballet dancer is gorgeous. What lucky relatives… Hope they appreciate the effort. 🙂

    • Thanks again; ElizOF. The first legwarmer is almost completed and then I will quickly start on the other (unfortunately, I only have one set of needles). My knitting circle warned me to be on guard against the one sock syndrome; that plagues knitters – which is when you make one sock and you never get around to making the match.

  5. NYcowgirl says:

    Beautiful!

  6. Mildred says:

    Love the Cowl!!!! You’re making me want to make cowls now! Love the colorway on the legwarmers/socks you are making. I’m so glad you are tackling douple points! So many are intimidated by the lovely needles, but forget that you still only knit w/two never four at the same time LOL!

    • Hey there Mildred. So nice of you to visit. I thought I would have to be an ambidextrous octopus to work with the double points; but listening to you and the other knitting circle members gave me courage to try. Also, the video by theknitwitch on YouTube was a great help.

  7. pix & kardz says:

    what an awesome aunt!
    i especially love the ‘mesa’ colour. wonderful!
    thanks for sharing.
    happy knitting!

    • Hi Pix,

      Thanks for stopping by the blog. I have some pretty amazing nieces. They are nice people. I would like them even if we weren’t family. I’m so proud that they are talented and hardworking and live passionately and with joy.

      Peace,
      Adrienne

  8. Pingback: Crafting for Christmas: I’m throwing in the Towel | atreegrowsinbklyn

  9. Pingback: A Post-holiday Yarn Wrap up | atreegrowsinbklyn

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

