Weekly Photo Challenge: Comfort

Hi F&F,

When I am feeling, distressed, anxious, and uneasy or worried, I find it’s a mental shift that is most often required to return to a state of ease. It’s similar to the way a bicyclist practices gear shifting to best tackle the hills on their route. For me reaching and maintaining a state of comfort is an internal practice; a mental and spiritual shifting of gears to confront the hills that make up a life. It can’t really be photographed (except maybe with an fMRI).

For this week’s Photo Challenge: Comfort; I decided to share a few of my favorite things in a brief slide show. Friends, family, flowers, good food, a good book, art, a pocket park to escape the din of the city and a church to escape the din in my head;  I find comfort in many, places, people and things.    These are the tangible things that add pleasure to my life.  These things are the external resources I fall back on when my internal reserves are running low; the feather bed I land on and find comfort in.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Daily Living, Photo, Photography, postaweek2011, Uncategorized, weekly photo challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Comfort

  1. Touch2Touch says:

    LOVE your catalogue, with accompanying photos.
    Art is a piece of art in its own right.
    Sub chocolate for the burger, double crostics for the crochet —
    Lots and lots of your comfort stuff really resonates for me.
    Thank you for a glimpse into your life!

  2. Northern Narratives says:

    Beautiful

  3. 3rdcultchild says:

    thank you for listing my blogpost…. very nice slideshow… very comforting…
    Greetings from http://3rdculturechildren.com

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Comfort « Mike Hardisty Photography

  5. Zoya says:

    So beautifully shared…we can derive comfort from many things, and this you’ve represented wonderfully

    • Hi Zoya,

      Thanks for visiting the blog. I’m glad you liked the post. Thankfully, I have a laundry list of comfort enducing people,places and things. I’m glad that the blog gives me an opportunity to share with others.

  6. ElizOF says:

    You offered a wonderful selection. 🙂

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

