Crafting for Christmas: I’m Throwing in the Towel

Hi F&F,

It’s been smooth sailing; working on the project Jambières avec une attitude.   I’ve completed one leg warmer and I am making progress on its mate. I’m not a tease so I won’t flash one leg. Once the mate is off the needles, and both have been blocked; it will be ready for a photo shot and post. Please stay tuned.

Meanwhile, I’m ready to throw in the towel; a dishtowel, to be precise.  While staring into my yarn stash for inspiration; for a gift for my sister-in-law, Eunice, two skeins of “kitchen” cotton caught my eye. Each skein of yarn is a solid brightly colored hue. They were bought on separate occasions; for projects that remain unexplored and truthfully, completely, forgotten. Together the yarns make a bold combination. I thought it would be nice to transform an item associated with drudgery, into something vibrant and cheerful.

I have started on the dishtowel. To create a kitchen gift set, I will use the yarn leftover from the towel to make a dishcloth/scrubby. To top it off I’ll add some ultra-rich hand cream (Any hand cream recommendations blogosphere?).

I’m calling this project  – The Domestic Goddess Gift Set (thank you Rosanne Barr).

Here are the project details and a few photos:

Pattern:     Daily Grind Dishtowels

Source:      Lion Brand Yarn Company

Yarn:          Lion Cotton in Orchid and Avocado.

Hook:         5.5 millimeter

Pattern:       Floppy Scrubbie Dish Cloth & Scrubbie

Source:        CrochetN’Crafts

Yarn:           Same as above

Hook:        4.5 millimeter

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in arts and crafts, Christmas, crafts, crochet, crochet pattern, fiber arts, knitting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Crafting for Christmas: I’m Throwing in the Towel

  1. lm1947 says:

    Very interesting and attractive gift.

  2. Northern Narratives says:

    Love the colors!

  3. nrhatch says:

    Love the colors you chose! 😀

  4. Touch2Touch says:

    L’Occitane lavender hand cream, which is soft and lush and wondrous-smelling, would certainly harmonize with your mainly-purple dishcloth.
    Sensational gift shaping up here —

    • You are so right. I love the sent of lavender and it is in keeping with my love of color coordination. There is a cute L’Occitane shop in Grand Central Station. Thanks for your suggestion.

  5. ElizOF says:

    Love, love, love the colors… they are vibrant. I could see a waistcoat in that or a short cardigan… :-0

  6. Pingback: A Post-holiday Yarn Wrap up | atreegrowsinbklyn

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

