And now for a Brief Message from the Grinch That Stole Halloween

Hi F&F,

Funeral torch, c. 1720, Minneapolis Institute of ArtI used to love Halloween; back when it was an innocent dress up holiday for little kids. Now… not so much. It’s been ruined and coopted by hipsters trying to make a statement by donning overly thought out costumes; in an attempt to be both ironic and relevant.  You have old farts with a Peter Pan complex; spending obscene amounts of money on costumes; falsely thinking that money equals cleverness and creativity; and finally, the religious zealots trying to spoil the fun for the whole lot; by placing way too much emphasis on, what they perceive as, the wickedness on display.  They shouldn’t be sermonizing so much about (and to) the folks dressed in black and wearing grease paint one day out of the year.  They should be more worried about the folks in the Brooks Brothers suits. They are clean-shaven and well-coiffed everyday but, we are learning that they are far more devilish than we suspected or noticed.

So Happy Halloween and go Boo yourself!

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Culture, Events, Holidays, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to And now for a Brief Message from the Grinch That Stole Halloween

  1. Oooh! Oooh! Badabing, Badaboom! Why can’t I pack this much punch into so few words?

    “[Folks] shouldn’t be sermonizing so much about (and to) the folks dressed in black and wearing grease paint one day out of the year. They should be more worried about the folks in the Brooks Brothers suits. They are clean-shaven and well-coiffed everyday but, we are learning that they are far more devilish than we suspected or noticed.”

    Fantastic! 😉

    • Hi Renée,

      Thanks for visiting the blog. I appreciate your comments. I’m glad you weren’t scared off by my Halloween rant. I always think it’s best to be brief when bellicose. 🙂

      Peace,
      Adrienne (AtreeGrowsinBklyn)

  2. Touch2Touch says:

    Yeah, I ditto her.

    And being brief when bellicose — boy it doesn’t get better than that!!!!!
    Boo to u2 😉

  3. Pingback: A Girls’ Got to Eat: I’m Making it Mexican Candy for Halloween | atreegrowsinbklyn

  4. OMG do i ever agree with you! I’m disgusted by Halloween’s descent (over the past 10yrs or so) into a sexed up adult drinkathon!
    If this makes me an old hag banging on about the good ol’ days, so be it! I miss when Halloween was a day for the kids!

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

