Weekly Photo Challenge: Hidden

Hi F&F,

People, who believe in signs, see them everywhere. The folks, who don’t believe in signs, never see them. I fall somewhere in between these two poles. Actually, I’m probably closer to the latter end of that bell curve. My thought is the Divine would speak to us very clearly. Knowing us to be imperfect beings; why would this mighty teacher risk having the lessons misinterpreted? The instructor knows her students. We are slackers. She would spell it out or sound it out (remember phonics when you were learning to read) to ensure that we get it. Understanding subtle symbolism is the core of a good reader with excellent comprehension and imagination.  Most of us could benefit from a remedial course.

As I said, I’m not a total non-believer in signs; because I know any teacher worth their weight would use all the resources available to get through to their students. The best teachers know their students intimately and will meet them where they are; using the teaching techniques that are best suited for the individual pupil. If the student learns best through play – the lesson plan will include a game. If the student is a visual learner – she’ll pull out posters and videos from her arsenal. So I’m willing to believe that sometimes the Divine will hide the lesson in a sign; leaving it for us to discover the hidden message.

I discovered a sign on, of all days, April Fool’s Day.  That was the day I set forth on a journey across the United States via train (Click here to start the journey). I was fulfilling a dream; I was traveling solo; and I was feeling all the adjectives that you could feel (I love when that happens).  As I boarded the train I was happy and eager but I was also anxious and a little nervous about this trip. I don’t know if it was environmental or psychological, but once I settled into my seat on the train, I became overheated.  I removed my coat to put it in the overhead storage area.  As I removed the contents of my coat pocket, so nothing would fall out and be lost, I received a sign so clear and reassuring, it was as if the Divine teacher was whispering in my ear and giving a private lesson.  After a few tears of joy I reached for my cellphone and took this picture.

For this week’s photo challenge here is a photo of the tiny label I found in my coat pocket.  I took the lesson to mean…you go girl!!! I’ve been going ever since. Lesson learned.

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Life, Photo, Photography, postaweek2011, weekly photo challenge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Hidden

  1. thirdhandart says:

    What a beautiful post! Great entry into the challenge! Thank you for the pingback.

  2. jakesprinter says:

    Great shot nice interpretation for this week theme thanks for sharing

  3. Touch2Touch says:

    As my friend Therese is so fond of saying, It’s a sign!
    I’m with you, not everything is a sign. Sometimes (as Freud said) a cigar is just a cigar.
    But no question with this one,
    IT IS A SIGN.
    And what a great trip you had, and you kept warm, and you kept your powder dry!
    🙂

    • Hi Touch,
      LOL!! My cousin Eileen is the sign spotter in my life. I can always count on her to point out and interpret the signs I miss. She is better than Google maps.
      Peace,
      ATreeGrowsinBklyn

  4. Laura Williams says:

    Excellent photo – and what a lesson!!

  5. Northern Narratives says:

    How wonderful that you saw your sign when most needed and that it was “hidden” in your coat 🙂

    • Hi Northern,
      The coat manufacturer is called Gallery. I have another coat by the same company and I found the label there as well. Neither of the coats are new; I’ve worn them cleaned them, etc. but never saw that label until “I needed to”. Timing is everything.
      Peace,
      ATreeGrowsinBklyn

  6. ElizOF says:

    Excellent post and a terrific idea for any company to use… 🙂

  7. 2e0mca says:

    A very nice photo and story! I can’t ever remember feeling anxious and nervous about a train trip – I think railways are in my blood and a place of homely comforts for me:-) Good interpretation of the challenge – signs are often hidden and appear to us from the most mundane of places.

    • Hi 2eomca,
      It is amazing how signs can spring out at you from the most unexpected places. I used to work for the railways so I’m not scared about train travel. I think the anxiety came from leaving behind some unsettling situations at home.
      Peace,
      ATreeGrowsinBklyn

  8. Patti Kuche says:

    What a fabulous find, love it!

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Winter | atreegrowsinbklyn

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

