Making Magic with a Scarf or 25 ways to wear a Scarf

Hi F&F,

I believe scarves have magical powers. You’ve seen that classic magic trick where a scarf becomes a bouquet of flowers; or after an incantation of gibberish, a dove suddenly appears out of the center of a handful of colorful scarves? Well, that’s not what I’m talking about. I’m not talking about the magic of the mythological Merlin or the flashy grand illusions of David Copperfield or even the street magic of Brooklyn born, David Blane.  What I mean; is that I believe scarves will transform me into everything I am not; which is a super stylish, smooth and sophisticated woman; a head turner for all the right reasons (as opposed to being a head turner because people just like to gawk at fashion wrecks as much as they like to look at car wrecks).

For a long time, I have trusted what fashion magazines told me.  I believed that wearing a new scarf would make my 5-year-old outfit look current. I believed that a beautiful scarf would turn my 9 to 5 work day suit into cocktail party glad rags.  It is my belief in the transformative power of that accessory that fueled my acquisition of about a dozen colorful and intricately patterned slips and wisps of fabric.  They are mostly silk or faux silk and I have a few lovely wool gauze and cotton examples. These are my indoor scarfs.  I also have outdoor scarves such as my hand crocheted or knitted mufflers, but I don’t include them in this inventory because the outdoor items actually get worn. The indoor scarves live in my dresser draw.

My indoor scarves have rarely seen the light of day. I don’t wear the indoor scarves because I’m useless at tying them in a way that looks fashionable.  When I try to revamp the neckline of a dress, I either end up looking like I am trying to hide a neck brace or I look like I grew a wattle; a complete fashion flop. Happily that is all in the past; thanks to a Facebook friend who posted an enlightening and entertaining you tube video created by Wendy’s Lookbook.  I’ve watched the video several times and I’ve already mastered the Bunny Ear and the Infinity style.  My long dormant scarves are coming out of
hibernation and hopefully they will awaken my tired wardrobe.

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in beauty, Daily Living, Fashion, Pop Culture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Making Magic with a Scarf or 25 ways to wear a Scarf

  1. Northern Narratives says:

    This is a great post! I also have some silk scarves and never wear them. 🙂 Judy

    • Hi Judy,

      I knew I couldn’t be alone in this scarf situation. Given all of the “hits” this video has gotten, I believe there are a lot of people who need help working this accessory into their wardrobe.

      Peace,

      Adrienne

  2. eof737 says:

    Love that video… I have tons of scarves and it’s great to find ways to wear them or use them. 🙂

  3. Touch2Touch says:

    My nominee for MVP: Most Valuable Post!
    A drawer full of scarves, several books on the shelves, and STILL —
    I can tie it about 1.5 ways.
    I shall be watching this nonstop for the next week. THANK YOU.
    (P.S. I too still stubbornly believe in the transformative magical powers of a scarf. It does it for French femmes, why not me???????)

  4. i love it! thanks for sharing…

  5. Pingback: Dig into Your Trash for High Fashion Holiday Style | atreegrowsinbklyn

  6. Pingback: 25 Ways to Wear a Scarf « inspiremewithwords

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

