Weekly Photo Challenge: Windows

Hi F&F,

It’s been a wonderfully busy schedule for me this week. Unfortunately, that means I didn’t have much time to focus on this week’s photo challenge, but fear not, dear readers; I think I have managed to pull something out of my ass hat that satisfies the assignment; just in the nick of time.

 The photo below may look a little familiar to those who have been following this blog.  I posted a similar shot in the slide show that accompanied my trip report post; Ten + One Marvelous Things About Minneapolis, Minnesota.

My entry was taken at the Minneapolis Institute of Art. They have an impressive collection.  I was, equally, impressed with all the windows in the museum. I became fascinated with the shadows created as sun streamed through a particular multi-paned window in a staircase. I took a series of color and black and white pictures; from many different angles. The photo below is one in the series; taken that day at the museum.

The original image was in color and then it was altered using the Windows Live Photo Gallery editing tools. I used the black and white effect called cyan tone to give the shot that cool monochromatic appearance. I like it very much and I think I will experiment with the other editing tools in the program.

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Challenge, Photo, Photography, postaweek2011, weekly photo challenge and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Windows

  1. jbheronneau says:

    That’s excellent!
    I very like the composition.
    Your eyes are litteraly dragged away by the the light on the right wall!

    • Hi Jbheronneau,

      Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. I think it is an interesting shot on its own, but experimenting with the photo editing really enhanced it.

      I took many many shots that day. I think the security officer at the museum thought I was odd for spending 15 minutes taking pictures of a wall.; not to mention the weird contortions I was doing to get different angles.

      Peace,
      ATreeGrowsinBklyn

  2. eof737 says:

    Beautiful… like something you’d see in Architectural Digest. 😉

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

