Weekly Photo Challenge: Breakfast

Hi F&F,

I love breakfast (doesn’t everyone), but I’m no purest. I call whatever I’m eating between pre-dawn and noon – breakfast. In my younger days that could mean White Castle Hamburgers at 3:00 am; after a night of clubbing or a  baggie full of dry corn flakes eaten by the handful in a 7:45 am class.

Today my eating habits have improved a little.  Most weekday mornings; I break the fast with a banana and a cup of coffee or tea.  Now that we are heading into the colder weather, some mornings I will replace or augment my daily banana with a bowl of oatmeal or cream of wheat.  Culinary creativity suffers when time is limited and you need to be out the door; ASAP.

It is only during the weekend that I can give in to the Muse that inspires elaborate breakfast banquets. I am a first-rate French omelet chef; thanks to culinary training and Jacques Pepin (click here for his excellent demonstration). I have also picked up some skills from my mom (Mom, Inc.). She loves to eat and socialize; hates to cook and clean; and is very clever.  Over the years she has developed a few easy crowd pleasing recipes that actually lets the cook on duty sit down and share in the meal with family and houseguests. My mother is the mother of invention.

For me weekend breakfast is about family, friends and the food.  Breakfast becomes festive and not just a meal to refuel the body.   That is particularly true, here, in New York City.  In New York City, weekend breakfast is such a leisurely and lingering ritual that it extends beyond the morning hours; into the early afternoon.  It is called brunch (as in breakfast + lunch = brunch). Brunch appeals to me. It satiates my physical need for food and my emotional need to connect with folks.

The food I consume at brunch isn’t always good for my body. Menu items are often very fattening but, the conversations I’ve had with friends and family over brunch have always been edifying and spirit nourishing. An occasional brunch in a restaurant is an essential part of my personal wellness plan.

Finally, I like that the dishes served at brunch often blur the lines of demarcation/identification between the meals. The lines are blurred even more (along with your eyesight) when you add alcohol to the mix; which is SOP (standard operating procedure) in most area restaurants. Free flowing bloody marys or mimosas + free flowing conversation = brunch bliss.

For this photo challenge I’m sharing a picture of an artistically presented plate of stuffed French toast. It is stuffed with peanut butter and jelly. It is topped with powdered sugar, whipped cream, caramel sauce, chocolate sauce, maple syrup, and garnished with chopped nuts and fresh strawberries. Basically, this dish covers breakfast, lunch and dessert. So like I said; the lines are blurred when it comes to breakfast + lunch = brunch. Fortunately, this was a shared plate (tGfff – thank God for foodie friends) but, it still carried a high calorie punch. I’m just hoping that the blurred lines extends to the viewing of the outline of my body.  A soft focus of my shape; and a little gauze over the lens when looking at my girth will be needed if I keep eating like this.

I’m going for a walk. I’ll be back for dinner.

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

P.S. Becasue I like to see what is on other people’s plates; I’ve included lots of links in the Related Articles section below.

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Food, Photo, Photography, postaweek2011 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Breakfast

  1. The French Toast is plated bee-utifully and looks very good, but I’d take the White Castles! We call them Belly Bombers in MissouREE.

  2. pancakeashes says:

    I would like to have such a brunch bliss too! I like your post 🙂

    • Hi pancakeashes,

      Thanks for peeking at the post. It was a pretty amazing taste sensation. I saw a cooking demonstration for the dish on one of those morning television programs. I was thrilled when I saw it on the menu at a restaurant. The dish pictured is from the restaurant, but I’ve deconstructed it and have made a home cooks version. My version: PB&J on raisin bread; dipped in a basic egg wash (seasoned with dashes of cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and brown sugar) then cook it up in a lightly buttered non-stick pan. I didn’t use all the sauces; just real maple syrup and I threw a few slices of banana on top . Yummy!

      Peace,
      ATreeGrowsinBklyn

  3. Touch2Touch says:

    Love your spirited (sic!) defense of brunch.
    Photo is gorgeous and mouthwatering but, no question, it’s OTT! (over the top —)

    Also LOVE that your mom is the mother of invention. She certainly raised a clever child, one who bids fair to follow in her footsteps 🙂

    • Hi Touch,

      The dish is OTT and OTM (over the moon)!

      My mom is a model of “work smarter; not harder”. It is a challenge to keep up with her and she keeps us (I have 2 older brothers) on our toes.

      I’d love for her to do a guest blog, but she isn’t one for writing. She can talk a blue streak but, if you ask her to write it down – dead “silence”.

      I will share your kind words with her. She will be so tickled. 🙂

      Peace,
      ATreeGrowsinBklyn

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Breakfast.. | melonpopzdropz …

  5. Angeline M says:

    OMG…excuse me while I go take my insulin! Just looking at this sent my blood sugar TTR (through the roof)…it looks delicious!!

  6. Northern Narratives says:

    Wow, I think a scoop of ice cream would complete that meal 🙂

  7. aRVee says:

    Wow, can I have some of this very mouth watering meal? 🙂

  8. aRVee says:

    Thanks for the pingback ATGiB and thanks also for dropping by my site, I appreciate it. Have a great day!

  9. Pingback: breakfast :: the best porridge recipe ever « Blog Archive « pix & kardz

  10. pix & kardz says:

    This post was such a treat! I smiled, I drooled.
    So I decided to update my breakfast post and share your link as a fine contrast to my rather almost-too-healthy approach 🙂
    thanks for sharing!

  11. eof737 says:

    I loved this post and had a good chuckle at parts of it… I’m more of a brunch than breakfast girl so I can relate… Loved this photo and just looking at it makes me want to take a walk… 😆

  12. Mildred says:

    I love how you DO breakfast! I wanna have breakfast with YOU!!!

    XOXOX
    Mildred
    (Moms90)

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

