Weekly Photo Challenge: Family

Hi F&F,

Hawaii is a beautiful state.  I have had the good fortune to visit many of the islands.  My favorite is Kauai. The landscape is varied. There are mountains, cliffs and caves. There are verdant valleys and secluded beaches. There are expanses of land dedicated to farming and ranching. Also, very much a part of the local landscape are the feral chickens. They are everywhere. They will greet you with a loud squawking Aloha at the airport. They will lounge with you on the Lani and they will stroll with you along the shore.  So when you visit the island don’t give them the “stink eye” (pidgin for dirty look) because chickens rule the roost in Kauai.

For this weeks’ photo challenge, I’m sharing a few shots of a hen with her chick.  This feathered family joined my family for a picnic at Ke’e Beach.  I have also included a poultry related poem (just typing that phrase makes me laugh) by Poetry Foundation’s Children’s Poet Laureate Jack Prelutsky (click here to see his cute website and read more poems).

Last Night I Dreamed of Chickens

Last night I dreamed of chickens, there were chickens everywhere, they were standing on my stomach, they were nesting in my hair, they were pecking at my pillow, they were hopping on my head, they were ruffling up their feathers as they raced about my bed.

They were on the chairs and tables, they were on the chandeliers, they were roosting in the corners, they were clucking in my ears, there were chickens, chickens, chickens for as far as I could see… when I woke today, I noticed there were eggs on top of me.

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Challenge, Photo, Photography, Poetry, postaweek2011, weekly photo challenge and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Family

  1. frizztext says:

    Last night I dreamed of chickens,
    there were chickens everywhere,
    they were standing on my stomach,
    they were nesting in my hair,

    they were pecking at my pillow,
    they were hopping on my head,
    they were ruffling up their feathers
    as they raced about my bed.

    They were on the chairs and tables,
    they were on the chandeliers,
    they were roosting in the corners,
    they were clucking in my ears,

    there were chickens, chickens, chickens
    for as far as I could see…
    when I woke today, I noticed
    there were eggs on top of me.

    (thanks for sharing this humorous poem,
    I’ll sing it to my guitar …)

  2. Northern Narratives says:

    Great post!

  3. Touch2Touch says:

    What a delightful post — and poem —
    Who knew! I know people who lived on Kauai for maybe 15 years, but they never talked about the chickens. Keeping it a secret, I suppose!!!!!!

  4. In St. Lucia they have cats! Cats cats everywhere. I don’t know what I’d be more excited about… feral cats or feral chickens…. Maybe I’ll sleep on it and have eggs for breakfast

  5. pix & kardz says:

    love the poem – and the memories this post evokes. i have visited a couple of Hawaiian Islands, too (yes, it is beautiful for sure!), and while the Big Island is my favourite so far, i have some great memories of Kauai and the chickens, too. i remember hearing the tiny cheeps when there were little ones in a nest hidden in the underbrush.
    thanks for sharing these great Kauai moments 🙂

  6. thirdhandart says:

    A wonderful post and great entry into the challenge! Love everything about it… the story, the photos and the poem.

  7. nelson RN says:

    I love your post!

  8. eof737 says:

    Adorable! I love this series… 🙂

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

