Leisure for Less: The New York Theatre Ballet Production of The Nutcracker

Hi F&F,

I am a part of the 99%, but I have 1% tastes.  You might think this would make for a miserable life; filled with the tension and disappointment that comes from wanting. It does not; because I was fortunate to grow up in a household that valued abundant living achieved through frugal thinking and execution.  I grew up in a family that felt a big part of the fun of dressing well, eating well, and experiencing the better things in life came from doing all those things for less. After all, even the dullest knife in the draw, can have a 3 star meal, at a 3 star restaurant, and pay 300 dollars for it.  It takes real smarts to have the exact same experience (or an approximation) for 30 bucks.

 Making less into more, means you need to be alert, clever, quick, and creative. These are the qualities that are prized in my family.  These qualities don’t require an advanced education; and in fact, these very qualities sometimes are stifled in our educational institutions. I guess you could say that my ability to find fun on limited funds has been bolstered by my having been a mediocre academic, but a brilliant pragmatist and a life-long learner.

I plane to start sharing some of what I learn about living large on a little. Tuesday I learned of the New York Theatre Ballet (NYTB) and enjoyed an excellent production of, the holiday favorite, The Nutcracker; for free. I feel as if I received an early Christmas gift.  The Keith Michael’s production was performed as part of the annual Winter Garden lighting of the beautiful atrium in the World Financial Center in New York City.  The production was well crafted; the dancing was delightful and the dancers were diverse.

Catching the performance for free was a fabulous one shot deal, but this company can be enjoyed for a pittance when compared to American Ballet Theater (ABT) or The New York City Ballet (NYCB) ticket prices for the Nutcracker. Whether you become a season subscriber or buy tickets to individual performances; you will be getting a bargain. A single adult ticket costs $36 and a children’s ticket costs $31 (12 & under). Also, this is a great way to introduce kids to ballet without breaking the bank; add to it that the company performs in an intimate 400 seat theater; adults and kids are sure to be immersed in the performance and have a memorable holiday experience.  The remainder of the 2011-12 season includes productions of The Alice-in-Wonderland Follies and Sleeping Beauty. Click HERE to visit their website.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Culture, Dance, frugality, Performing Arts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Leisure for Less: The New York Theatre Ballet Production of The Nutcracker

  1. I love ballet and theatre. I once walked in on a dress rehearsal of an opera playing at our university. No one seemed to notice, so I sat down and enjoyed the full second half of a show. I’m with you. It’s awesome to enjoy the arts and the price of free is the best, though we don’t mind paying for a discounted ticket to see the best perform!

    • Serendipity is splendid! New York has many resources for obtaining discounted tickets to events. Also, it is important to make donations to organizations that contribute to the cultural life of the community.

  2. eof737 says:

    I hear you! The pictures are beautiful. Nothing beats a bargain and there are many to be had in NY. We just have to keep looking. 🙂

  3. eof737 says:

    TY for your patience as I have been adjusting to a changed schedule … Glad to comment again. 🙂

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

