Dig into Your Trash for High Fashion Holiday Style

Hi F&F,

The holiday season is here and that can mean more social engagements requiring fancy duds.  Most of us will be digging into the back of the closet to pull out that little black dress.   It is a classic and timeless fashion piece but, often that look just appears common and tiresome. You can try to freshen up that dress with a few of the scarf tricks I shared in my post – Making Magic with a Scarf or 25 ways to wear a Scarf  or you can take inspiration from Bolivian designer Marion Macedo; and start digging in your trash and recycling bin.

Ms. Macedo has been creating fashion from found objects for quite sometime.  In the past she has used old paper like fabric; to construct garments and accessories that feature cutwork, ruffles and pleats. She also repurposed her husband’s old CDs, and has used discarded plastic bags (think plarn), and soda bottle caps in her designs.

Photo from peopledaily.com

Photo from peopledaily.com

Last week she held a fashion show in La Paz called “Recycle Yourself”.  For the first time she received corporate sponsorship for her work; and as a result, many of the outfits were made with the products of the sponsors; giving a new meaning to the term “product placement”.

Photo from breitbart.com

Photo from breitbart.com

Most of the items are eccentric and impractical but, I like the fact that things destined for a landfill; had that journey delayed, just a bit, with a trip down the catwalk.

Photo from yahoo news Malaysia

Photo from breitbart.com

What do you think; fashion fabulous or fashion faux pas?

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

P.S. Check out the post on Thestreetwordiz Blog. It gives a whole new meaning to the term “protective gear”.

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Art, arts and crafts, beauty, crafts, Fashion, fiber arts, Pop Culture and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Dig into Your Trash for High Fashion Holiday Style

  1. Your pictures and posts are so much fun! I love the models! Keep up the great work!

    • I love coming across these curiosities and having a forum to share them with others. I’m glad you enjoyed the post. I like people who are willing have fun; with the frivolous; from time to time.

  2. NYcowgirl says:

    That little CD dress is just up my alley.

  3. Bella says:

    I like the idea of using items that are destined for the landfill on models! Notice how I write “models” and not regular people. I can’t seriously see myself boarding a public bus wearing the CD dress but I can admire it if it’s featured in a fashion show! That tutorial on the scarves rocks, by the way! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  4. Touch2Touch says:

    The recycles are way out, and the other blog you linked us to is way out-er.
    You find the most fun stuff around! Just don’t expect me to start wearing any of that stuff, Missy.
    😉

  5. Now that’s fashion and style with an inexpensive bling. The holidays is about creativity and we all should start using what we already have to create something spectacular. We need to make people know that buying is not the answer to looking great all the time and also it’s there’s an actual economic crisis out there . It’s time to save and feel pride in what we can make from our own closet.
    Wishing you and your family all the blessings and joy this Christmas and a wonderful New Year.

    • You are absolutely right. We don’t need more things. We all could afford (literally and figuratively) to recycle, reuse and repurpose what we already have or share it with someone who needs.

      Happy holidays to you and yours!

  6. eof737 says:

    It is creative and fun… Some of them are actually wearable but the rest is just for entertainment… I’d say re-directed fashion! 🙂

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

