Weekly Photo Challenge: Celebration

Hi F&F,

For this weeks’ challenge I’m giving you a picture of a picture.  This shot was taken many years ago on a trip to Toronto.  We were there for Caribana (now called the Scotiabank Caribbean Carnival). Caribana is a celebration of Caribbean culture that includes all kinds of events highlighting the art, music and food of the West Indies.  The main event is the parade; with participants in costume dancing to live steel drum, soca and calypso bands. During the parade the crowd doesn’t just passively watch.  We all get to “jump-up” and celebrate.

This photo happens to be one of my Mom’s favorites.  I’d like to think she likes it because it’s  a picture of  her favorite daughter (I’m not boasting; I’m her only daughter), but I know she mostly likes it because it demonstrates her rarely used photography skills. She managed to catch me in midair; jumping for joy and celebrating the good times; back then.  Today, I’m still known to jump for joy; just not as high.

Photo by Mom, Inc.

Finally, here is a brief musical interlude. Please feel free to jump up; if you feel like it.  🙂

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Photo, Photography, postaweek2011, weekly photo challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Celebration

  1. Northern Narratives says:

    Great photo 🙂

  2. Britta says:

    Your mom can be proud of her skills in taking photographies and of course proud of her daughter:-)

    About midsummer (I am sorry I didn´t find the comment button in the midsummer story, but here is a few reflections): Midsummer is a very important celebration for us swedes. We have a Swedish national holiday, the 6th of June, but it is not like midsummer. Yes, swedes are a rational people, but the Swiss knife is from Switzerland, not Sweden:-) Perhaps we are more laidback and funny, than we think about ourselves. Famous swedes are ABBA, Björn Borg, Raoul Wallenberg, great inventors as Lars Magnus Ericson (LM Ericson, telephone equipment) and of course Alfred Nobel, who invented the dynamite (the Nobel prize), writers as Astrid Lindgren (Pippi Långstrump) and Stieg Larssonand and many professional ice-hockey players. Kind regards! Britta

    • I’m so glad to “meet” you. You enlightened me and I’m eager to learn more about your country. I will do more research and hope to someday visit to see and experience Midsummer firsthand.

  3. eof737 says:

    Cool! I love the energy of that shot! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Celebration… | Mirth and Motivation

  5. townsendlee says:

    Love this pic! I love photography too. It’s always cool when I nab a great action shot. My grandchildren are my best subjects – they’re only still when they’re sleep! 🙂

    Vicki

    • Kids are like the energizer bunny; fully animated when charged; then they just fall out when the “battery” is depleted. Definitely, learning to take action shots, on a moment’s notice, is essential for catching the little ones.

  6. Madman says:

    A dynamic celebration indeed! Thank you for sharing your photo with us 🙂
    Greetings from Switzerland,
    – Pierre

  7. Touch2Touch says:

    If I ever saw a photo of someone On Top of the World!

    You still do it, Tree — it’s just internal 🙂

    • Thank you Touch. I’m grateful, to say, that most days I feel like that picture. Thankfully, on the days when I’m feeling weighed down by a person or situation, I can reflect on the “light” days and have faith that I’m not moored to that person or situation; or even fixed to my response, to it all. We change and our circumstances change either through action or acceptance; or perseverance or patience-that’s something I’m happy about all the time. 🙂

  8. Pingback: A Kiss Away: Weekly Photo Challenge (Celebration) « aNTibaKTeRiYeL

    • Hi Claudia,

      Thank you very much for the nomination for the Versatile Blogger Award. I’m glad you have enjoyed the posts and took the time to say thank you in this special way.

      Happy Holiday,
      Adrienne (ATreeGrowsinBklyn)

  9. pix & kardz says:

    it took me a while to break from all the other celebrations to get to yours 🙂
    thanks for sharing. that is an impressive jump indeed – congrats to your Mom! and i love the sound of your video – perfect timing. i am about to jump into my car. thanks for sharing! and if i don’t have a chance to pop by before the weekend, then hope you have a wonderful christmas – if you celebrate. and if not, then enjoy the weekend anyhow. cheers!

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

