Weekly Photo Challenge: Winter

Hi F&F,

I used to say, New York City people are extreme; but our weather is not.  I used to believe that statement – until 2011 changed that notion.  In 2011 we experienced, heat waves, blizzards, record-breaking rainfall and Hurricane Irene.  Also, let’s not forget the earthquake; while technically not a Meteorological phenomenon (it was a Geological event), it was extreme, rare and noteworthy.

In 2011, my fellow New Yorkers and I were engaged in an ugly, scratching, biting and hair pulling, catfight with Mother Nature (MN).  We cried “uncle” first. Now, perhaps because MN is a gracious victor, or because she is occupied in a rough and tumble battle somewhere else in the world, we in New York have been having a very mild fall and winter. In fact a real cold snap didn’t snap, crackle and pop for us until January, 3rd. The low temperature was 19 degrees and the high reached 33 degrees. It was the first time I needed to wear my heavy winter coat. I’ve been very comfortable in my lightly lined raincoat or my ; all-weather short jacket (the one featured in the Photo Challenge: Hidden); thus far. So, it hasn’t felt much like winter and it doesn’t look much like winter around here.  There isn’t any snow on the ground, no frozen ponds or frost glazed trees for me to photograph. For this challenge I had to take a (what’s the opposite of nostalgic?) look back at the winter that was.

The photos were all taken with my cellphone camera as I trudged through the snow to get to work.  As Charles Dickens wrote… It was the best of times; it was the worst of times, to introduce his novel A Tale of Two Cities. I write…  It was a magical snowscape; it was a miserable snowscape to introduce my entry for this weeks’ photo challenge.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in new york city, Photo, Photography, photos, postaweek2011, Weather, weekly photo challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Winter

  1. Hermionejh says:

    I live in Western MA, and have been experiencing the same mild weather this winter. It’s kind of unnerving, actually, but I’ve been enjoying it nonetheless. I love your handle. A Tree Grows In Brooklyn is one of my all time favorite books! Cheers!

    • Happy New Year, Hermionejh!

      Unnerving is right; you just feel as if the damn will burst and we will be hit with 2 feet of snow in 2 hours. The book is a favorite of mine, as well. Thanks for visiting the blog.

      Peace,
      ATreeGrowsinBklyn

    • Happy New Year, Hermionejh!

      Unnerving is right; you just feel as if the damn will burst and we will be hit with 2 feet of snow in 2 hours. The book is a favorite of mine, as well. Thanks for visiting the blog.

      Peace,
      ATreeGrowsinBklyn

  2. Pingback: Keeping Warm: Weekly Photo Challenge (Winter) « aNTibaKTeRiYeL

  3. 40again says:

    Great photos, I can almost feel the cold air………lovely. Still no snow in Wales just rain and ridiculously high winds that almost blow you off your feet. Roll on Spring …

  4. Amar Naik says:

    wonderful post

  5. Nicolle says:

    Nice photos! I see New York has borrowed the LOVE statue from Philly!

    • Happy New Year Nicolle,

      I’ve seen the iconic, Robert Indiana, sculpture in Philly. My understanding is; there are many versions of the art piece scattered across the US and around the world. This scaled down version is unpainted (it has a slightly rusty patina) and “lives” in the Pratt Institute Sculpture Garden. I pass it and other works of art every day. Each season the elements give the works a new appearance. I took this picture because, to me the Philly version is so cheerful, but the unadorned snow covered version seemes melancholy. I don’t usually give my photos titles, but this shot I’m calling why so cold, love?

  6. I appreciate the pingback. I miss Winter 🙂

  7. suitablefish says:

    nice collection of wintery photos. love the love b&w 🙂

  8. eof737 says:

    Beautiful… I love your selections… and this is one of my favorite photo challenges… I’m posting another one on it too. 🙂

    • Thank you. A snow covered city landscape can be delicious like frosting on a cake. It’s unfortunate that in NY it doesn’t stay yummy for very long; motor vehicles and foot traffic quickly make it a black mushy mess.

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Another Look At Winter… | Mirth and Motivation

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Winter | dtharm

  11. Love these photos, really arty and well captured 🙂

  12. pix & kardz says:

    what a beautiful post! we rarely have snow like this, and i must admit that i do not miss it when it is not there. but these images are great. thanks for sharing.

  13. NYcowgirl says:

    It’s awesome. Though I have never visited the Brooklyn campus, I recognize Pratt Brooklyn.

    Thanks for sharing this wonderful experience.

    L

  14. Touch2Touch says:

    Have been under the weather (ha!) so am getting to this late —

    But it’s fabulous! The photography, as always, although on a couple you outdo yourself.
    But the zing, the snap crackle and pop of the writing! Wonderful.
    Just hope you haven’t put the hex on us and double dared MN —
    No snow, so far, so good —

    • I like the pun, but don’t like that you have been unwell 😦 I wish you a speedy recovery.
      I’m glad you liked the words and pictures. MN is going to do what she’s going to do; besides MN dosen’t read my blog. 🙂

  15. Anita Mac says:

    Nice collection – I particularly like the LOVE sculpture. Great reflection on a winter’s day!

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

