Casual Gamers and Lab Partners Wanted for One Word Wednesday

Hi F&F,

As I’ve said before, I see this blog as an experiment.  It is also a playground for me.  It’s a fun place to jump from idea to idea and toss around a lot of words. It’s fun to paste some pictures on this virtual refrigerator door for all to see.  Blogging is a lot like show and tell for adults.

I really enjoy engaging with everybody. In the spirit of play and experimentation, I’ve decided to try a kind of free association word game with all of you.  I’m inspired by my love of games. When I was a kid, my family and friends would gather around the table to play all kinds of games.  We had a closet full of board games such as Risk, Monopoly and Clue. We had word games such as Scrabble and Boggle and games I can’t classify such as Dominoes (what is that game? – they look like dice but they don’t roll!).  I haven’t played a game in a long time and I’m in the mood to play a little.

I’m also inspired by a WordPress Blog called A Flamingo in Utrecht. It is a lovely blog with words and pictures; from an expatriate in the Netherlands. She’s a wonderful guide to that jewel box of a city.  The blog also features a Wordless Wednesday post.  It is a weekly post that displays a photo without text. The visitor is free to enjoy and interpret the image without a prompt from the photographer.

My game/experiment is called – One Word Wednesday (OWW). As a positive, I think the title of the game fully explains the concept. As a negative, I think the abbreviation, OWW, may be a foreshadowing of how painful it will be if this experiment falls flat. No matter; I’m doing it anyway.

Here are the Rules:  On Wednesday I will post a single word on the blog (no greeting or salutation); just a word. I’ve set up a page layout so that I can simply relate whatever comes into mind and post it ASAP.  Then I’d like you to respond (with the same rapidity) with a single word that you associate with the word posted. Again, your reply will be one word; without a greeting or a salutation.

The Goal:  To quickly share with you what’s in my head; in my heart; in my world – in just one word; a verbal self-portrait; without the burden of over thinking and explaining.

Take it as it is, define it as you choose; respond as you will.

I’m curious (and I hope you are too) to see how others interpret the word; for a kind of blogosphere class portrait. I’m hoping that what we end up with; will tell us something about each other; as individuals and as a group; a community of bloggers and readers converging on the internet. Finally, my hope is that this virtual word game, prompts real world thought, and fuels real world discussions with the real people in your life.

In the parlance (I promise I will never use that word for OWW) of the television industry, the pilot “bloggisode” (blog + episode) will air tomorrow; Wednesday, January 11, 2012.  I’m committed to running 3 “bloggisodes”, but your level of participation will determine if I pick this up as a regular series for regular broadcast on the ATreeGrowsinBklyn network (watch out Oprah Winfrey and Ted Turner).

I hope you will don a lab coat and safety goggles; or put on your play clothes to join in the fun.

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Events, Games and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Casual Gamers and Lab Partners Wanted for One Word Wednesday

  1. eof737 says:

    Peace to you too! 🙂

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

