A Post-holiday Yarn Wrap up

Hi F&F,

With all the holiday festivities going on, I failed to post the pictures of the completed knit and crochet projects I worked on for gift giving (thanks Jenny for the reminder). So below are a few photos of the finished objects.

I am very happy with Jambières avec une attitude. My first attempt at knitting with 4 double-pointed needles turned out to be easier than I anticipated.  The self-striping yarn used for these leg warmers (click here see original post for details), looks good. I especially like that while they coordinate with each other, they aren’t “matchy matchy” identical twins. The yarn started out a little scratchy, but got really soft after I wet blocked them using a little hair conditioner in the water; a great tip from Lily Chin.  Finally, to keep the cylindrical form, I placed the leg warmers over tall aerosol cans until dry.

The Domestic Goddess Set was a fun and easy project (click here see original post for details). I executed the dishtowel pattern exactly as written. I slightly modified the dishcloth/scrubby.  I did fewer rounds and added a loop so the cloth can be hung up to dry.  I plan to make a set for myself.

Finally, I knocked out “Rockin” My Morning “Java” Jackets.  These crocheted coffee sleeves offer a greener method of protection for fingertips holding scorching hot paper coffee cups. I paired these with coffee bar gift cards and coffee mints.  In keeping with my goal to tap my existing stash; these little guys made uses of the odd small scraps of yarn remaining from previous projects.

The original pattern  is called Cuppa Joe Java Jacket.  It was designed by Theresa Grant.  I used the basket weave modification created to that pattern; by Tajmacaw.  Both versions are free on Ravelry.

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in arts and crafts, Christmas, crafts, crochet, crochet pattern, fiber arts, free pattern, knitting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Post-holiday Yarn Wrap up

  1. Northern Narratives says:

    I have been thinking of making some leg warmers and I am really inspired by yours. I also like that they are not identical twins 🙂

    • I’m glad you liked the leg warmers. I hope you give it a go. My project was great for my beginner skills, but with your advanced skills you could make a cabled or lacy pair. There are many cute leg warmer patterns on Ravelry.

  2. eof737 says:

    The colors are superb. I’d like to see the finished product in pictures. 😉

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

