Eye Spy: A Crafty Cozy for Your Craft Beer

Hi F&F,

Usually, my Eye Spy posts feature the curiosities I discover while urban hiking. Unfortunately, the recent arctic temperatures have suspended all unessential outdoor activities. I’ve replaced outdoor hiking with indoor internet surfing; and truthfully, internet surfing is all I’ll ever do, in light of a comical (now) and somewhat scary (then) boogie boarding experience.

On a recent electronic expedition, I discovered the Skuuzi. This, slightly kitsch and very clever, little item caught my eye because it encapsulates three things for which I have a growing interest – knitting, beer and Scandinavian culture.

The Skuuzi claims to be “The Original Scandinavian Koozie”. It is a hand knitted wool beer bottle cozy that is worn like a mitten.  It keeps your beer cold and your hand warm.

Picture from the Skuuzi Website

As an amateur Anthropologist, I think my discovery of this “tool” may be worthy of publication in The American Journal of Archaeology. This artifact may give us insight into the material culture and foodways of the Scandinavian people; or, it may simply be a super cool couch potato accessory; just in time for that Super Bowl party.

I have a request for the good people at Skuuzi.  Please consider selling a Skuuzi knitting pattern or knitting kit  for DIY fiber fanatics.

To my fellow fiber crafters, I’m betting that your significant other, who scorns your yarn stash, will be more supportive of our growing inventory, once you present him with a gift of a Skuuzi; made with love, in their favorite sports team’s colors. I bet you will be cleared for takeoff charging and I’m  predicting big cheers!!

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in arts and crafts, crafts, Curiosities & Oddities, fiber arts, knitting, shopping, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Eye Spy: A Crafty Cozy for Your Craft Beer

  1. eof737 says:

    How do people come up with these ideas? Very interesting! ;-)

  2. very interesting post! :)

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

