Leisure for Less: Hockey Weekend Across America is February 17-19, 2012

Hi F&F,

The fifth annual Hockey Weekend Across America, presented by Reebok, kicks-off skates-off on Friday, February 17, 2012.  The 3 day event is a celebration for those currently involved in ice hockey and offers newbies a chance to strap on some ice-skates and give it a try.

The fun begins on Friday, February 17th with Wear Your Favorite Hockey Jersey Day. Fans around the country will wear the jersey of their favorite  hockey team.  A Facebook page will be available so that fans can show their love of the sport and show their team spirit by submitting photos of themselves, their friends and colleagues donning their favorite team’s jersey at work or at school. Click here for the Facebook page.

Saturday, February 18th is Try Hockey Day.   Over 200 ice rinks will be offering FREE hockey clinics to introduce more than 4,000 kids to the sport. A list of currently scheduled clinics as well as information on how local associations or rinks can host their own event can be found here.

Sunday, February 19th is Celebrate Local Hockey Heroes Day. USA Hockey is asking its fans to post stories, photos or videos of their hockey heroes to USA Hockey’s Facebook wall to share with the world. That wall is here.

Also, on Sunday, fans can look forward to NBC’s Hockey Day in America coverage; more than 6 hours of games and human interest stories about the amateur athletes, fans and celebrities who have a passion for the sport.

Finally, don’t forget to enter the “Hockey Weekend Across America Get Your Gear On Sweepstakes”.  Reebok is giving away 3 sets of equipment as part of the 2012 Hockey Weekend Across America celebration. The entry form is here.

Do go out and have a good time playing hockey; just don’t come out looking like politician, John Kerry. I could certainly name a politician or two who could benefit from a hockey makeover, but a black eye and swollen nose is not a good look for John Q. Public.

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in cheap, Culture, Events, frugality, fun, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Leisure for Less: Hockey Weekend Across America is February 17-19, 2012

  1. eof737 says:

    Enjoy the games… I’m not into hockey very much… I must say I love the jerseys though. 😉

  2. I’m looking forward to NBC’s coverage!
    My boys played hockey when they were young..many an EARLY morning was spent rinkside! I can’t say I was too upset when one decided football was his favorite, and the other left organized sports completely, opting for music lessons instead…(he’s now an adult musician)
    Anyway, this is my longwinded way of saying I haven’t been IN a rink in years but do like hockey and follow the Bruins. When we lived in the central part of MA everyone was into semi-pro hockey in a big way! The Icecats were the local hockey semi-pros and they had brilliant marketting.. I don’t think a person exists in central ma who doesn’t own an Icecat’s shirt. I’ll be wearing mine Sunday when I watch NBC…(i’m wierd that way)

    Great post!! I hope more people see it before friday!

    • Hi SHBG,

      I’m glad you got the headsup on the Hockey Weekend event. I will checkout NBC’s coverage. I don’t follow sports, but I do like the human stories and dramas of the players. Also, this event appeals to me becasue its about getting young people active and involved.

      Enjoy the Weekend!
      ATreeGrowsinBklyn

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

