A Fiddling With Fiber Post: It’s a Sensational day for a Sundance Makeup bag

Hi F&F,

I have a new project underway.  On my knitting needles is the Sundance Makeup Bag. The free pattern is from Classic Elite Yarns and it is available online. For my project, I will be using a modified version of that pattern.  The modified pattern is contributed by Ravelry member, Woolbear.  Woolbear’s  version, thoughtfully, eliminates some of the trickier design elements of the original pattern; making this project suitable for new knitters.  It is also free and available online.

I’m calling my project – It’s a Sensational day for a Sundance Makeup bag.  I’m a Van Morrison fan. The project name is a corruption of the lyrics to his song Moondance.

This project is my introduction to the seed stitch. It also allows me to practice left and right slanting increases. The other skill developing element of the project will be sewing in a lining (yikes!). Here are the project details:

Project Name:     It’s a Sensational day for a Sundance Makeup bag

Pattern Name:     Sundance Makeup Bag – click here for the original pattern. Click here for Woolbear’s modified pattern. (you must be a Ravelry member to access the  pattern)

Yarn:     Vanna’s Choice by Lion Brand Yarns – the color  is called Mustard. I’ve had this yarn in my stash for years. It’s perfect for this project because the makeup bag  will, undoubtedly, be defaced by lipstick, face powder, lotions and potions. The yarn is a worsted weight and machine washable acrylic. The bright color will make it easy to find in my oversized and overcrowded handbag.

Needles:     4.5 millimeter

Fabric Lining:     To be determined

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in arts and crafts, crafts, crochet, fiber arts, knit pattern, knitting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Fiddling With Fiber Post: It’s a Sensational day for a Sundance Makeup bag

  1. That color is one of my all time faves! I’m not too good with knitting needles, but I enjoyed the classes I took and few simple projects I tried. ..I’m curious….what will the measurements be when done and how many knitting hours are involved from start to end? .

    • I’m using a thicker yarn than called for in the pattern. I want the bag to be long enough to accomodate “longish” brushes and tubes of lipgloss. Based on my gauge swatch; my finished bag should be about 10.5 inches wide and 4.5 inches in height. It’s hard for me to calculate the hours of work this will require because I craft in fits and starts. After the shaping on the front flap the project is straight seed stitching. I think it would be a quick weekend project for an experienced and focused knitter.

  2. eof737 says:

    Good for you. I love the design/pattern and the golden yarn you are using. Fun times ahead! 🙂

  3. Northern Narratives says:

    I like the yarn color. I use seed stitch a lot for borders. Have fun with your project 🙂

    • I’m glad you like the color. I think it’s very cheerful. I can see that the seed stitch would make a nice border. The fabric seems to lay very flat. I’m loving the nubby feel of the stitches. 🙂

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

