Weekly Photo Challenge: Ready

Hi F&F,

Encarta Dictionary defines prayer as – address to God; a spoken or unspoken address to God, a deity, or a saint. It may express praise, thanksgiving, confession, or a request for something such as help or somebody’s well-being.

I think it is a fair definition of the word, but it also seems a little incomplete; to me. The definition doesn’t take into account the span between a prayer request and a thanksgiving – that in-between time; that watchful waiting time; that can sometimes feel way too long for our liking. That can be a period of anxiety that can delay or block the Amen. It seems to me, that it is during that span, that our spiritual practice is challenged. It is not the time to slack off and become the spiritual equivalent of a couch potato.  We need to push through and  turn it up and change it up so we will be able to discern the divine opportunities; and be ready for the blessings.

The picture below was taken at The Chapel of the Holy Cross in Sedona, Arizona. In this place of natural beauty sits this beautiful manmade edifice; carved into the side of a red rock mesa.  It is a major attraction, in an area that has a thriving tourist industry; with a sometimes wacky and sometimes tacky new age/spiritual component.

Fortunately, the Chapel of the Holy Cross does not participate in any of the P.T. Barnum like razzle dazzle. The place manages to be a popular attraction, without feeling like a circus sideshow.  It is a Catholic chapel, but people of all faiths, or no faith, are welcome to enter the sanctuary.

For this photo challenge, here is a shot of my good friend “M” praying; poised and ready to receive her blessings.

Whatever we are waiting for - peace of mind, contentment, grace, the inner awareness of simple abundance - it will surely come to us, but only when we are ready to receive it with an open and grateful heart. (Sarah Ban Breathnach)

and what’s church without a little music…. 🙂

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Challenge, Photo, Photography, photos, postaweek2012, Uncategorized, weekly photo challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Ready

  1. I love your post. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  2. eof737 says:

    Beautiful… I love this interpretation… we should all be ready for worship. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Ready… | Mirth and Motivation

  4. You have no idea of the deception in the name of spirituality of the predatory vultures swooping in on tourist with dollar signs in their eyes and pretense in their heart mind.

  5. Touch2Touch says:

    Oh my gracious! I remember that chapel — and it truly was a spiritual experience. The real thing. Thanks for a wonderful post that has profound memories for me —

  6. 2e0mca says:

    Quite right – You have to be ready to receive that gift of inner peace. Sometimes though, you have to make an initial effort – a pilgrimage if you will – to a place where that inner peace will find you. When I’m in need of that peace I make my way to St. Albans Abbey – I don’t know why exactly but I always seem to find it there.

    • Hi 2e0mca,

      Thanks for visiting and commenting. I’m sure St. Albans Abbey is a special place. FYI, I have some knowledge of the sanctuary. I grew up in St. Albans in Queens, New York. I learned of it while doing research for a report for school. 🙂

      Peace,
      ATreeGrowsinBklyn

  7. Moe says:

    Love this post…..beautiful….*teary eyed*

  8. fgassette says:

    I was blessed by your post. Thanks for visiting my blog. God does have a blessing for us. Thank you for sharing.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

