Weekly Photo Challenge: Regret

Hi F&F,

I was an imaginative kid. I believed that many of the inanimate objects at home had very animated inner lives, and were really invested in the day-to-day activities of the family. There was also a cast of fantastical characters that included the usual suspects of Santa Claus, the Easter Bunny and the Tooth Fairy.

These familiar myths were deeply sowed in my fertile imagination by my parents and siblings. They were skilled at telling me stories about these fantastical beings; complete with very detailed descriptions of their personality traits, likes and dislikes, and job responsibilities. I was convinced my family had firsthand knowledge and personal encounters with them all. I thought it was fun and exciting. I believed in them all; for a while. I regret that it didn’t last longer.

Peer pressure in grade school compelled me to search for Christmas gifts around the house. I never hunted for presents, until my friends at school sent me on that fateful mission.  I believed in Santa Claus. I understood Santa didn’t deliver gifts until Christmas Eve; while you were sleeping. I learned otherwise; when I discovered wrapped gifts in the basement cedar closet; one afternoon.  I was about 8 years old.  I regret looking for the gifts. I regret finding the gifts. I regret that a childhood myth was demystified; far too soon.

For this weeks entry I’m sharing an early picture of me and Santa Claus.   I regret that I didn’t hold onto that relationship longer.

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Photo, Photography, photos, postaweek2012, Uncategorized, weekly photo challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Regret

  1. Patti Kuche says:

    So sad reading this . . . childhood lasts only so long but the shadow of it casts such a long stretch. Such a sweet photograph, for so many reasons!

  2. pix & kardz says:

    Aw…..
    Touching story.

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Regret « Flickr Comments by FrizzText

  4. ElizOF says:

    This is touching and I feel for you. I found out pretty early about Santa and the lot… I thought it was pretty funny when I did but that’s me. Great photo! 🙂

  5. Beautfiul post that touches the heart. I’m trying to let my son believe in Santa for as long as I can…it’s part of the Christmas joy and magic. Stay blessed…

  6. Pingback: new myth, old god (and the origin of heaven and hell on earth) « JRFibonacci's blog: partnering with reality

  7. Pingback: the Knowledge of Good and Eve: a parable about Ron Paul, myths, and Santa « JRFibonacci's blog: partnering with reality

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

