Weekly Photo Challenge: Down

Hi F&F,

I’m a native New Yorker; and New Yorkers are used to looking down.  We often live and work in skyscrapers.  Many of us work or play downtown. We travel via the many bridges leading to the island of Manhattan; affording us a bird’s eye view of the iconic skyline. We walk a lot; and those of us who have a thing for lovely footwear know – the mean streets of NYC can be mean to our lovely shoes-so we spend a lot of time looking down and watching our step. Also, while, yellow taxis are a popular mode of transportation in NYC, you can’t call yourself the real deal until you’ve climbed down into the subway system and traversed the city in the belly of the beast.  You have to master the metal dragon if you want to earn street credibility. Additionally, and ashamedly, native New Yorkers sometimes look down their nose at the transplants; the interlopers; the “wannabes”, the posers; the outsiders; to the city.  Finally, if one of the before mentioned outsiders should piss off a New Yorker, you can bet, the New Yorker will get down and dirty and go toe to toe with the offender.

I certainly could have captured a down image, close to home, for this week’s challenge;but I didn’t.  Instead, I chose to look elsewhere for my photo. I left the Big Apple and traveled across the country to Seattle, Washington; the Emerald City to bring you this entry.

Below is a picture taken at the Central Library of the Seattle Public Library.  The glass, steel and concrete structure is eye-catching; inside and out. The design consists of many different angles that result in spaces that are grand and soaring. This photo is a view looking down into the The Norcliffe Foundation Living Room.

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Photo, Photography, photos, postaweek2012, Uncategorized, weekly photo challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Down

  1. It is grand, eye-catching and made me feel that I was soaring. Just amazing! Thank you for getting out of your way so you can share with us a beautiful, unique photo. Wonderful!

  2. Sarah Harris says:

    Awesome shot! Love the insider perspective!

  3. Clever = Great: I absolutely LOVE how you titled the picture! For those who didn’t already do so, be sure to mouse over the image!

  4. Northern Narratives says:

    Wow, great photo.

  5. Beebles says:

    Thanks for the pingback. Love the photo- very active, keeps my eye moving.

  6. Moe says:

    Wow… cool pic!!! What an eye! (Ummmm when we travel next..I may not roll my eyes every time you want to stop and take my pic…..but I ain’t makin’ no promises…) xoxo.

  7. eof737 says:

    That is an awesome shot… I love Seattle! 🙂

  8. Touch2Touch says:

    You certainly have a good head for heights. I don’t even like to imagine where you were standing to get this shot — It would give me vertigo.

  9. Mildred says:

    What a wonderful and artistic shot! Love it and am jealous! Keep up the good work. I have always wanted to visited Seattle Washington! Glad you were able to go.

    • Thank you, Mildred.

      It was a brief trip, but what I was able to take in was lovely. FYI – there is a vital fiber community there. I visited a few yarn shops. I looked and touched, but did not buy. I was very proud of my self-control.

      Peace,

      Adrienne

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

