Leisure for Less: Wellness Week March 19-25, 2012

Hi F&F,

If you took full advantage of the Hockey Weekend Across America event I shared in my last Leisure for Less Post, you may be feeling aches and pains in muscles you didn’t know existed.  I feel your pain and relief is on the way. For this Leisure for Less post, I’m sharing with you a smart way to give those smarting muscles (and the other parts of you) a little TLC – tender loving care; in a way that’s tender on your wallet.

March, 19-25 is Wellness Week.  Sponsored by SpaFinder, Wellness Week is an event where spas, yoga studios, fitness centers and a variety of other healthy living services are made available at $50 prices or 50% discounts.  The services can be used as a mini escape or staycation, but better yet the Wellness Week could be used to jump-start a fitness routine or reignite the New Year’s resolution that failed.

Most of the Wellness Week providers are spread across North America, but there are also providers in Africa, Asia, the Caribbean, Europe and Central America.  In the time I’ve been monitoring the site I have seen the number of locations increase. I anticipate, as we get closer to the kick-off date, there will be more locations added. I’m sure you will be able to find a service provider in your area.  Also, there are a broad range of offerings; finding a service or treatment you like should be easy. A quick scan of the website showed offerings such as massage, personal nutritional counseling, personal training sessions, cooking lessons and facials; just to name a few.

The Wellness Week website acts as a gateway to access the different service providers. Beyond that, you will find tips and advice on ways to incorporate small sustainable changes into your life to benefit your overall health and improve your quality of life.   On the website, you can commit to a “healthier, happier life” by taking the Wellness Week Pledge (I did); sign up for updates on free events in your community (I did); and schedule appointments for services(still deciding; there are so many to choose from).

After Wellness Week is over you may find that you want to incorporate massage or other bodywork into your wellness regime.  Spa prices can be expensive, but there is a way for you to access high quality massage and other bodywork services at a reasonable rate.

Massage therapy students want your body. Massage therapy students need bodies to practice on to build their skills.  Let them use yours.  There are massage programs across America and nearly all of them operate massage therapy and spa clinics; providing services to the general public.

 In my former professional life, I recruited massage therapists for a leading healthcare and research institution.  We had a strict credentialing process. One of our minimum requirements was that candidates had to have completed their training at an accredited program. You can locate reputable programs in your area via the accreditation websites.  This way, you can be sure that the program achieves and maintains a level of quality, performance and integrity based on established educational and professional standards. There are a few different accreditation organizations, but here are the ones I am most familiar with – Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges (ACCSC), the Commission on Massage Therapy Accreditation (COMTA) and the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB).   Once you locate the quality schools, a quick phone call or a visit to a schools website will get you the information on services offered, prices, policies and appointments.

Going to a student clinic will save you lots of money. That is a real value because you really experience the benefits of most bodywork when it is done on a consistent basis.   Also, at a student clinic, you can be sure you will receive a massage administered safely, from an enthusiastic student (under the supervision of an instructor); with no other objective than to plan organize and administer an effective massage or bodywork session.  You can’t always say that when you go to a spa. When you go to a spa the therapist is there to do the bodywork, but many times they are also tasked with selling products and additional services to increase the bill and earn a commission.  A student therapist’s only objective is to demonstrate skill mastery and get a passing grade.  The benefit to you is all the service without the sales pitch.  Also, you get a high level of service at a lower price than your typical spa.  The only disadvantage I’ve found with going to a student clinic is that your massage will not be in luxurious surroundings. The student clinics are always spotlessly clean, but the decor is usually cold and clinical; with therapies administered in private or semi-private facilities.

I love to be pampered at spas and I will save my nickels and dimes in order to occasionally indulge in a total diva experience, but when my doughy body just needs some good kneading, I go to a student clinic.

Bodywork at bargain prices; is muscle stretching and dollar stretching.

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in beauty, cheap, frugality, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Leisure for Less: Wellness Week March 19-25, 2012

  1. eof737 says:

    I work out so much that I could benefit from a few more massages… will check it out. TY! 🙂

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

