A Fiddling with Fiber Post: The Crochet Heard Around the World

Hi F&F,

March 4th is a red-letter day for me.  I’m a history buff and I like to crochet; today those 2 interests merge.   On this day, in 2005, Martha Stewart was released from prison. She had served 5 months for obstructing justice and lying to investigators about a well-timed stock sale.  For her momentous trip home, she wore a handmade crocheted poncho.  It was a going away gift; made by a fellow inmate.

The photos and videos of Ms. Stewart boarding a private jet, her flight towards freedom, were circulated around the world.  Immediately, the crochet community and the general public were chatting about that poncho. Crocheters were speculating about the pattern and the yarn used to craft it.

Crocheters were eager to make the poncho, but the inmate/artisan remained anonymous and prison officials would not comment. Yarn manufactures, crochet bloggers and craft publishers filled the information void. They started publishing and posting their own interpretations of the garment.  Within in days of Ms. Stewart’s release, an on-line search would result in several different patterns from several different sources.

Today, 7 years later, it seems only the Lion Brand Yarn version has survived the test of time.  It’s called the Martha Stewart Coming Home Poncho. The pattern is available for free and it is available in English and in Spanish. The Spanish language version is called Poncho de Punto de Borde Festoneado – Regreso a Casa (highlighting the garments decorative edge design and hinting at its claim to fame). There is an adult version; a kid’s sized version and even a version for your dog. The dog version is called Martha Stewart Coming Home Pooch Poncho.

So yeah; it’s a special day.

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in arts and crafts, crafts, crochet, crochet pattern, Culture, Fashion, fiber arts, free pattern, History, Pop Culture and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Fiddling with Fiber Post: The Crochet Heard Around the World

  1. Northern Narratives says:

    Yes, I remember this, I wonder if she still wears the poncho?

  2. ElizOF says:

    I remember that poncho and the rage/trend it started. 😉

  3. Feliza says:

    That’s actually really cool. I would have been 13 at the time – wayyyyy too young to have noticed it – but it’s still pretty awesome to think Martha Stewart would wear something made my a prison inmate.

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

