Weekly Photo Challenge: Distortion

Hi F&F,

My first idea for the Weekly Photo Challenge was to share a distorted image of a beach scene. The familiar sand and sun image altered by a weird purple haze special effect. I changed my mind on that photo when I came across the (on-line) Bing Dictionary definition of distortion:

“Misleading alteration: the describing or reporting of something in a way that is inaccurate or misleading”

If we were playing some kind of word association game; the above definition  wouldn’t have been the first thing to pop into my head.  Usually, I associate distortion with such things as rock music, fun house mirrors or modern art. My view has changed because I’ve been following all the happenings of Super Tuesday . I‘ve been really disappointed in the quality of the political news reporting and the analysis being offered by the political pundits. The above definition resonated with me.

For this weeks challenge, I’m sharing a distorted view of the Washington Monument; a symbol of Washington, DC; the seat of government of the United States of America.

I can accept and enjoy the visual distortion of this picture. I will disavow and  abhor the people and systems that distort truth and thwart civil discourse.

“When distant and unfamiliar and complex things are communicated to great masses of people, the truth suffers a considerable and often a radical distortion. The complex is made over into the simple, the hypothetical into the dogmatic, and the relative into an absolute.”                        Walter Lippmann

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Culture, Media, Photo, Photography, photos, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Distortion

  1. Sarah Harris says:

    Wow! Again, you raise the bar! I don’t know of any distortion going on in Washington DC though. ;).

    • Hi Sarah,

      Thanks for visiting and thank you for the lovely compliment. FYI, if you do not perceive the distortion in DC, it’s because it is packaged so well. hehe! 😉

      Peace,
      Adrienne

  2. Michael Fishman says:

    Washington in a bubble… how true! I share your disappointment with most of the political analysts and pundits nowadays. They’re as partisan as the politicians and I don’t need them telling me what *they* want me to know.

  3. Touch2Touch says:

    Good for you, Tree!
    It’s time for people to blow the whistle on what’s going on. Such shenanigans, such bald-faced lies, such spitballs to distort the pitch —
    Enough distortion of the truth and inexorably it turns into lies. Before our very eyes — Black magic.

    • We need to blow a whistle, bang on a can and stamp our feet to revitalize our political process. We need facts; not fiction, so that we can be informed citizens and make good decisions. How can “we the people” be lifted up, when our leaders are talking down to us?

  4. Great post and photo! I totally agree on every point. Thanks for speaking (writing) out.

  5. Reblogged this on Changeversations and commented:
    A great post for this week’s theme: Distorted

    • Oh my! It’s special to have readers and get comments. It’s really special to be re-blogged. I’m honored that you felt the post was worthy of sharing with your readers.

      Thank you!

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Distorted Words | ♥ Project 365 ♥ Challenge ♥

  7. eof737 says:

    Cool distortion shot… As for politics, some of the distortions makes me cringe… 😦

  8. fgassette says:

    I love your photos. Thank you for visiting my blog. Hope you come again.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

