Weekly Photo Challenge: Unusual

Hi F&F,

A typical New York City street scene will usually contain the following elements:

 Hot Dog Cart – The city that doesn’t sleep does a lot of eating on the street. We have the newfangled gourmet food trucks or the less new and less gourmet, but still fangled (?), chicken over rice vendors. They have their place, but for authenticity you must have the old school NYC al fresco dining experience of a hot dog cart.  Tip – when you hit the mean streets make sure you have your dirty water dog like a native – mustard, sauerkraut, and sweet onions in tomato sauce.

People Walking – Certainly, people walk in other places, but in NYC people are actually trying to get somewhere. This differs from, say, South Beach, Florida; where the point of walking (actually, more like strutting and posing) is to stay in place and be seen from all angles.

Bike Delivery Daredevils – The world comes to New York, and New Yorkers demand that the world’s cuisine comes to their door – quickly.   Be careful crossing the street at lunchtime in midtown and after 6:00 pm everywhere else.  You are likely to be run over by a delivery person riding a bicycle overloaded with bags of, anything from, African-Tib Wat to Vietnamese-Banh Mi.

 Duane Reade Drug Stores.  I have a soft spot in my heart for the independent pharmacist owed drugstore. My, beloved, Uncle Frank was one of them. After serving in WW II and thanks to the GI Bill, he went to school and became a Pharmacist. He set up shop in our community of St. Albans in Queens, New York.  The customers were our friends and neighbors.  I am a little nostalgic for those days, yet I confess I also love the big glossy Duane Reade Drug Stores that are on every block of this city. Sadly, the armies of pharmacists that work in these emporiums know by insurance carrier’s ID number better than they know my face, but I still like shopping there. I’m a kid in a candy store walking the aisles upon aisles of health and beauty products. They are always busy; proof positive that I’m not alone in my DR infatuation.

When I survey the urban landscape around me, the above items are there. They make up the familiar, the ever-present, and the usual for me and my fellow New Yorkers.

Last night my eyes landed on objects; at once, familiar to me yet unusual.  In the middle of a large plot of land; in the bustling theater district; on lively restaurant row, on the island of “moneymaking” Manhattan, stood 2 oil pumps; chugging away.  The unusual sight stopped me in my tracks and it halted the conversation I was having with my friend. People were rushing to the theater and dinner; not taking notice of this curiosity (in typical New York fashion). My friend and I negotiated traffic in order get across the street and take a closer look through the fence.  It turned out to be an oil pump in appearance only and a piece of public art in actuality. Thanks to a QR code on the sign, I was able get information on the work. Click HERE to read about it.

For this weeks photo challenge I’m sharing pictures of this unusual piece of public art; sitting in an unusual location.

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Art, Challenge, Culture, Curiosities & Oddities, new york city, Photo, Photography, photos, Pop Culture, postaweek2012, weekly photo challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Unusual

  1. Northern Narratives says:

    Wow, that is really unusual 🙂

  2. Touch2Touch says:

    You are the best! Not only do you spot the out-of-place (oil rigs?????), but you salute the fangled food vendors!
    They’ve been waiting an age for someone to recognize them!
    (When I use the phrase, I probably won’t footnote you. But I will think of you!;-)

    • Hey Touch,
      Anything unusual or having to do with food will find a place in this blog. Being able to cover both points in the same post is a bonus for me.

      I apologize for butchering the language. I write the way I think and talk; and it’s not always grammatically correct. I’m always messing with words to fit the meaning I have in my head.

      If you can find an opportunity to use the word “fangled”, have at it. Credit isn’t necessary, but if it catches on, I hope the blog gets cited in a dictionary for the first usage of the term. 🙂

      Peace,
      ATreeGrowsinBklyn

  3. Moe says:

    Luv it!! And to think I would have walked right past it…..smh. me and my NY’er ways!! LOL.

  4. jenkakio says:

    That is very unusual. I’ve never seen one of those in person before. That’s cool.

  5. ElizOF says:

    Cool! Where did you find this one? 🙂

    • The artwork is located on 48th and 8th Avenue. It will be on display until May 6, 2012. We only came across it by chance. We were going to see Progy and Bess, but decided to exchange our tickets for another night when we learned Audra McDonald was out sick and would miss that evenings performance. We decided to have dinner out instead and just started walking along resturant row and there it was! No Audra, but still a nice evening of theater. 😉

  6. Judee says:

    Ha, I love it! You almost had me there, they look perfectly real to me. Though perhaps a little more colorful than the ones I used to see in Texas.

  7. Pingback: My Homepage

  8. It’s amazing how unusual things ends up spicing up the whole landscape or events. The photos are stunning and shows the exciting variety and surprises of the city. Thanks.

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

